1 / 5

Help out on our home-site near Homer, Alaska, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 68 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We are a small family developing our land of 10 acres, mostly forested. We do our own construction and landscaping work. I am a working Mom, Ryan is 17 and likes video games, archery, basketball, soccer and girls! Mike works construction in the surrounding area and sometimes across Kachemak Bay. We do not have a well so we have lots of gutters for water catchment and we practice water conservation. There are over 15 kinds of wild berries on our land in the forested areas or in the bogs. We are between Homer and Anchor Point and can get to the beach in about 20 minutes! Anya our dog is our early warning system for visitors and loves to go on hikes and to the beach anytime! Storm and Honey are rodent control experts and watch the nesting swallows and dream of catching them with no success- typical cats, they own us. :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn about construction, running a chainsaw and wood splitter, basic wiring, basic fencing, tree falling, plumbing, wood boilers, cooking, baking, food preserving. We also try to be sure we get guests out to fish for halibut and sometimes salmon. We usually plan work around my husbands days off so you also have time to go hiking, fishing, exploring, wild berry picking or beachcombing on your own!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are building a home and planting trees and planning the landscape of our property. We will be putting on metal siding, wiring, sheetrock, building a guesthouse, planting fruit trees, building a fence to keep the moose from eating the trees, and cutting and splitting firewood for the winter. I would also like to build a solar shower that will not be in the house.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Depending on your arrival and when you schedule to come, we have a nice dry camper that has heat and electricity but no water in it. We also have a tent if you want to be closer to nature. We are working on a guest cabin that currently can sleep a couple and a single. You will be using an outhouse for a toilet and either shower in the house or maybe in a shower in the greenhouse. We have rainwater catchment and save rainwater and practice water conservation because we buy our water if we have to as we have no well. We provide meals for the days you are here working. Our evening meal is the main meal and breakfast and lunch are more casual. I try to grow or trade for local produce and we love to eat local fish and game as well when we can. I am mostly a scratch cook and we also look forward to trying new things if you have a favorite meal you want to prepare!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a Christian family and we try to attend services on Sunday you are welcome to join us or find another local place of worship and we will help you get there if you wish. There is lots of wildlife around so keep your eyes open. There are over 50 trails to hike on the Kenai Peninsula, beaches to visit, many gift shops and galleries, local live music, museums and the Islands and Oceans center for local attractions.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We do have pretty good wifi. Not sure if it will be available in the new volunteer housing/cabin.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 847569227412

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder


Join our apple farm and our family for an exchange in Philo, CA, US
Pet and house sitter welcome in a great location in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA