Help in our garden and general maintenance in rural Co. Down, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 150 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are retired farmers in our mid 70’s living in rural Co. Down. Our daughter has returned from Australia to be near us. The other member of our family is Buff, our 13 year old cocker spaniel, who loves meeting people. We now have three cats which our daughter hand -reared after their feral mother was killed.
    Co. Down is an area of drumlins (small hills), narrow roads and hedges making it both interesting and beautiful. Our farm has views of the Mourne Mountains, The Sperrins and Belfast. We have many local National Trust properties, including those used to film The Game of Thrones, nearby. Our nearest seaside resort is 40 minutes drive; it is beside a long stretch of beach where grey seals bask, as well as having sand dunes with flora and fauna. Because of our drumlins we have spectacular views in all directions.
    We try to live sustainably - reduce, reuse, recycle - and try to reduce our carbon footprint. We have solar electricity and use our own wood for heating.
    We are not vegetarians, but do not eat meat every day. While appreciating vegan principles, we find them difficult to fit into our lifestyle.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Ireland has many cultural sites, some of them dating thousands of years. We have a few archeological sites quite near us, but the Giants Causeway on the North Coast is too far for a day trip - some volunteers go for a weekend. Depending on the time of year there may be festivals, otherwise we can direct volunteers to cultural events and entertainments.
    Belfast is now a vibrant city and is approx. 50 minutes by bus. The bus to Dublin takes two hours and it calls at Dublin airport.
    We are happy to share our knowledge of soil regeneration and gardening with you.
    There will be opportunities to learn to bake bread, as well as cakes and pastries. In season, you may help with processing produce into jams, chutneys and pickles.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have two wooded areas and need help to shape them by pruning in the winter during the dormant season, tidying, providing for wildlife, etc. They are great places to practice meditation, yoga or tai chi. We hope to have groups to forest bathe, paint/photograph the wildlife, trees and flowers. We are also working towards a camping area with tents and yurts.

    Our garden always needs attention, especially our organic vegetable garden where we try to grow as much of our own food as possible. We mostly follow permaculture principles, using the ‘no dig’ method. As well, we have planted up additional fruit trees to start a fruit forest. This year we intend to provide veggie boxes for the local community and also give some items to the local food banks. The flower garden tends to be at the bottom of the list, but we enjoy our flowers and mostly grow them for our bees.

    We are restoring the farmhouse next door so any DIY skills would be useful. As well we need help to tidy, paint and repair our farmyards.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a small bungalow, so the accommodation would be in a caravan beside us. This has mains electricity and running water, toilet and shower, though we allow volunteers to use our bathroom and share our main meals. We eat organically if possible and often make our own bread. As I enjoy cooking, I would be interested in exploring different foods, while providing volunteers with traditional Irish dishes.
    You are welcome to use our sitting room to read, etc. It has a small television and a stereo player. But we hope you would spend some time in the den with us.
    If COVID-19 returns, it would be extremely difficult to keep you with us as the cooking facilities in the caravan have been disconnected.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our small local town (approx. 10 mins. drive) has coffee shops, cinema etc. and we are willing to take volunteers there and will collect you up to 10pm.

    Our farm is a good place to “chill out”. But if you are interested in lively nightlife, we are not for you. Banbridge has little hotel accommodation, so bars only have music at weekends and currently that would be modern or country, but not traditional.

    Two people are ideal, being company for each other. We will try to take volunteers on outings, especially at weekends, but we do not have as much energy as previously

    Two hours in a car takes you most places in Northern Ireland and many are areas of outstanding natural beauty. For anyone wanting to learn our history we have excellent cultural sites and many museums, places of interest, etc.

    You would be living in a caring environment where we focus on others qualities and we aim to show love and respect to everyone.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    This area has been accepted for super fast broadband, which is scheduled to be rolled out this Spring. Meantime our internet speed is reasonable.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Living on a farm, we have several areas suitable for a camper van.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kettle, toaster, TV
Planting up the polytunnel.
Our home
Banbridge

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)



















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 835512413446