Help out at a vegan retreat in Melo, a village in the Serra da Estrela national park , central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 918 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Last minute opportunity
    16th-23rd of June
    We are looking for vegans who truly love to help. We need to get a pig fence and shelter made before the arrival of our first rescue pig.
    The area is over grown and its hot. So we will probably do early morning work and later evening, with siesta in the middle.
    For this week we are looking for volunteers that are going to feel passionate and proud that they helped create a forever home for ziggy the piggy.
    If that's you please get in touch. We are gathering a lovely group of people to help .

    Hi,
    We are looking for enthusiastic people who want to help us out. No moaning minis or those that think its " just volunteering why should i make an effort" we need Help building a fence. Cementing the poles and attaching the wire.
    Also help renovating a small house, next job is rendering the walls. We are also looking for people that can also help cook and clean. Jobs will be mixed . There will also be some land clearing. So a certain level of fitness is required. We live in the mountains and the land is sloped.


    You will be staying in a seperate house to us, 5 minutes walk away. The house you will stay in has mains water and electricity. We ask for 5 hrs a day 5 days a week in exchange for a place to stay and food. On volunteering days we eat lunch together, other meals you prepare for yourself with food we provide for you. We are vegans and will only be providing vegan food . There is always plenty of food.

    We are Annie & Adam, we live on a 5 hectare property on the out skirts of Melo, a village in the Serra da Estrela national park in central Portugal. We moved from Bulgaria with all our animals in April 2015 . We have 4 horses, 9 dogs plus Foster dogs, 9 cats and lots of roosters ( male chickens) that make up our family, they are all lovely, however if you are not that into animals, this probably is not the place for you as they are allowed everywhere and join in on every day tasks, sometimes not quite as would be wanted! We opened our retreat centre in May 2016 . The Quinta/farm is a place for people to enjoy the area in a vegan, healthy, non toxic atmosphere. We run a variety of courses, including self healing techniques, yoga, meditation and animal communication courses. You do not have to be a vegan or spiritual to visit, just whilst you are here we ask you to not bring meat, animal products, alcohol, marijuana (unless medicinal) or other intoxicants onto the property. We have loads of projects to complete they include, plumbing , fencing the boarder and planting trees, pulling up bracken, cutting back brambles and maintaining the veggi garden, poo picking, hay turning, fruit picking, herb and flower collection, painting the house, decorating, amongst other stuff, all quite physical work. We also have daily tasks which involve cleaning the guest areas, washing up and food preparation.
    Volunteering with us means that you help to make this place an amazing experience for our guests whilst they are attending courses, we do not offer juice fast options to volunteers, although you are welcome to join the yoga classes if they are running there is space or it fits in with your jobs for the day ,it is not guaranteed. The same goes for the Reiki courses, we may be able to offer you a place on one of our Reiki courses, but again not guaranteed.
    We have both travelled extensively and have many a tale to tell, we also enjoy listening to our guests tales, thoughts, hopes and dreams. We like to socialise but also appreciate our privacy, so its important that you dont expect us to be around all the time. We are going to try and organise workaways so we have a few people in at a time, as this will allow us to get more work done in a shorter amount of time and make it a more social occasion, again however you may find that its just you, so being able to do jobs alone is important. The property is off grid. We have very limited wifi and it only goes on for a few hours in the morning and then again in the evening and have limited electric for charging devices. Water is from a natural spring and we have a grey water run off into the veggi patch and so ask you not to use environmentally harmful products in the shower, we can direct you to natural products that do not have a negative impact on the soil.
    We have a website so if you would like to learn more about the project before applying please email us and we will send you the address. This is a healing retreat centre, people visit for peace and quiet and to get away from everyday life, so we ask that you respect each persons space and are aware that some people may be having a hard time as they begin to detox.

    Please bring long trousers that will protect you from the brambles as well as working shoes. It does rain a lot here in the winter and spring so waterproofs are good too, also if you have them working gloves, we have some gloves you can use if you dont have your own. We do not have insurance to cover any injuries you might sustain whilst working here, so please make sure you have your own insurance. We will ask you to sign a disclaimer when you arrive and also expect you to be honest with us about the jobs you are happy or un happy to do. We prefer people to stay for a week and then for both parties to review from there if a longer stay is a good idea. If from day 1 or early on we realise you really are not suited to our project we will drop you back to the nearest bus or train station that can safely take you to your next destination

    Look forward to hearing from you
    Annie & Adam

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Chance to learn yoga, meditation and reiki. Learn about a vegan lifestyle, gardening and enjoy time in nature under a blanket of bright stars. Nice walks in the local area . The chance to be part of foster animal rehabilitation and the chance to visit a wildlife rehabilitation centre close by.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have loads of projects to complete they include, plumbing, making an irrigation system, fencing the boarder and planting trees, pulling up bracken, cutting back brambles and maintaining the veggi garden, poo picking, hay turning, fruit picking, herb and flower collection amongst other stuff, all quite physical work. We also have daily tasks which involve cleaning the guest areas, washing up and preparation and we have some art projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Bulgarian: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Türkisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depends on the time of year, but will range from caravan, tent, or horsebox, once the season starts it will be tent only as the others will hopefully be rented out to guests. There is a communal kitchen (with no running water, we bring the water up from the spring in buckets) and living area which we expect you to keep tidy. The toilets are long drop and compost and the showers are heated by the sun, and when its not shinning we have a wood burning shower unit. This is not a luxury place, it is very basic and natural, it is however a stunning place to spend time close to nature.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Things to do in the local area- Lots of walking and cycling opportunities in the National Park, the local municipality holds numerous events around the year. Possibilities to visit the near by towns of Gouveia and Guarda, not to far from salamanca in spain for the weekend off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    We ask for 3.5 hrs a day, every day of the week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.3)

Kommunikation: (4.5)




























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 827861528924