Learn about Tuhoe future in off grid Aotearoa, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 50 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.06.2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of five We live off grid on the east coast of Aotearoa ( New Zealand) about ten K from the sea. We have our own river that we swim in most days. I am Tuhoe as are my three children and my wife is from the highlands of scotland. Tuhoe are the original people of the area known as the bay of plenty, north island NZ where we live. Our life is a blend of traditional Tuhoe practices and permacultural ideas where english and Tuhoe ( also commonly mis-called maori) is spoken to our children who we un-school. We are completely drug and alcohol free and all mind or mood altering substances are actively prevented from coming on to the whenua( land ) that we caretake. I have been working with the Pounamu ( jade ) since 1991 and this is how we support ourselves I carve mostly traditional designs and my elders have given much old knowledge into my care. My wife is a silversmith and together we make interesting treasurers. We have our own spring water that is amazing and the air is pure. We live very simply. We are surrounded by forestry and native bush. We have our own gardens also ducks chickens a dog and two sheep. We need help building a simple cabin and i know we have much to offer in return

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My culture is not something i talk about it is what i live I wear Taa Moko Tiiwhana which is the traditional face (tattoo) of my people , what i will and can share about my peoples culture is immense Anyone we accept into our home we will manaakii (host) and no one who stays with us will leave without first having experienced much in the way of Tuhoe hospitality.
    Pounamu is the ‘healing’ stone of Aotearoa. If you stay with us you will beable to experience the stone for yourself.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like someone who can build a small cabin using non toxic timber All materials supplied. This includes foundations, framing, fitting windows and roof.
    If people are computer literate we would like help with organising files using evernote and help editing our wix website.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Maori: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our tipi or the yurt is the volunteers private space. We have outdoor toilet and solar shower. We wash each down at our river. We will all eat together at our small cabin

    We will happily feed anyone who is with us. We eat mainly organic garden grown food and meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Come in the summer its the best time

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 825937655519