Help a German-Canadian family in Northern Alberta.

Country

Kanada

Bisher 152 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    September 2019:

    We have had a wonderful summer with lots of traveling and workawayers at our place. Now Fall is here and we are still happy to welcome travelers. Work will be more inside depending on weather. There is still clean-up/moving jobs, some garden work, help with the chicken coop, some painting and everyday housework. With Fall around the corner we are back to work full-time, which means during the day workawayers can enjoy time by themselves at our place.

    If there is interest we are also happy to welcome travelers at our home over Christmas with the opportunity to do house sitting while we are gone. Details can be discussed in person.

    If you are a traveler who likes to do long-term planning we know for sure that we have lots of projects lined up for next summer. Starting in May 2020 we have lots of landscaping projects lined up including building the patio roof, starting flower beads, building a place for outside bonfires, sanding and painting the deck, building guest accomodations etc.

    We are happy to hear from anyone who is interested. Experience level does not matter, we like to teach travelers new skills :)

    May 2019:

    After taking a bit of a break from being a HOST family, we would now love to welcome people into our life again. The house that has been built in many hours of labor of love can now be enjoyed by many visitors :)
    Currently, the work here consists of gardening, cooking, cleaning (these jobs are always shared amongst everyone at our place - not just the hosts or workawayers doing them), and lots of landscaping work around the new house (including a new place for our fire pit so the evenings can be enjoyed together) . Lots of leftover building material needs to be moved and stored. Preparing firewood for the winter and cooking is another important job. House sitting continues to be an option as well as usage of our canoes and cars ( for further details see posts below). Looking forward to being connected with wonderful travelers again :)

    July 2018:

    Now we have lots of paint jobs, flooring and other carpentry tasks to do as well as tiling. If someone is interested in house sitting while we are on vacation that is an option too. There are still chickens and the cat to take care off along with the vegetable garden. Our canoes an be used in one of the nearby Lakeland you can use our cars to explore the area.

    Valleyview is a small community but the Greyhound stops here and has a small lovely coffee shop, a new fantastic Multiplex for swimming and other fitness interests and stores to buy the most essential things.

    We or friends often travel between Edmonton and our place and can give you a ride if it works with everyone's schedule.

    March 2018:

    Interior work is still happening. Dry walling, building cob walls, painting, flooring, building counter tops. It continues to be a very creative project and more ideas come as we go. Anyone who has experience with building or wants to learn new things is more than welcome to join us.
    This year we would also like to pay a bit more attention to our garden again. If this is an interest or skill of yours please come and play :) Cooking and other domestic duties never stop and if you like to show your skills in the kitchen this here is a great place for you. We all love to cook and share meals together.
    Otherwise not much has changed. The children are growing and turn into inspiring individuals, our cat is still there and of course the chickens.


    it is now August 2017

    and the walls and roof of our new house are done. We have now moved on to doing interior work. This involves working with wood, drywall work, plaster and cob work. It continues to be fun and creative and we love how everyone's ideas make this house grow and develop. Our kids have grown along with the house and are now 4 and 7 years old and continue to enjoy our life in the woods with lots of space to run and around and play. Our chicken family grew and currently we have lots of little chicks that need attention. Our cat Tomte is still around and loves to curl up on someone's lap.


    Hi,

    here is another update on us. It is now 2 1/2 years after our house fire and we are still in the re-building phase but it is a fun project. The building style we have chosen is very creative and called cordwood also known as stackwall houses. Look it up if you are interested! The walls are more than halfway done but there is still lots of building to do. If you like to build and be creative you might like being involved in this project.


    Hi,

    The original text below has to include some changes now about our living situation as our house burned to the ground in December. Our family is fine, luckily nobody got hurt. We are now looking for workawayers who might be interested in giving us a helping hand with our re-building project. Please contact us with any questions you have. We would be excited to welcome you!

    Hi,

    We are a German/Canadian family that lives in Northern Alberta. The small place is called Little Smoky, located about 3 1/2 hours northwest of Edmonton. We live in a quiet wooded area in a stackwall house, heat and cook with wood and live basically of the grid (solarpower...). We have two small children ( Juri and Sophie) a cat named Tomte and four chicken (Adelheid, Karoline, Johanna, Serephine). We try to live of the land and love to have people around to show them canadian culture, give them travel experiences and share some of the work on our place.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a bilingual family speaking German and English. We enjoy learning from all travelers who come here and share their gifts of knowledge and stories about their journeys and home countries and experiences they have gathered.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are building projects on the go, our kids love company for playing and some garden work as well as preparing fire wood are some of the chores. We are very easy going people and would love to welcome you even just for a couple of days if you might not be sure how you will like Northern Canada.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    guest bedroom, garden house or tent

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our past workawayers really enjoyed the location in that it is off the beaten path. There is driving involved to see things but we can offer a car to our workawayers. We can be reached with greyhound and will be able to pick you up/ drop you off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-5 but this is flexible, does not have to be every day and not weekends (max 25 hours)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 819516192581