Help me starting an eco-project on the remote Graham island, in Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 17 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 05.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a self motivated woman from Quebec. I have lived on Haida Gwaii, BC for 8 years now and just bought a property which I am very excited to settle onto! I have travelled extensively and lived abroad for many years and love to meet folks from around the globe. I am living in a remote community on a remote island called Haida Gwaii which is a rainforest surrounded by the sea and by mountains. I have a kayak and paddle board, a bike and lots of knowledge of the surrounding area to share.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am a cook, a writer, I also work doing Thai and Swedish massage, and am an avid outdoors enthusiast who loves to do wild harvesting, transformation and experimenting. I also love dance and yoga and art. I can exchange with my volunteers in 3 languages about world travel, local wild harvested food and culture, and much more!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have finished deconstructing a house in November 2021 (Eco Project - reduce, reuse and recycle as much as possible), and then moved my house to my property (July 2022) so there is lots to do!!! I will need help with re-building a shed, building a yurt plateform, setting up garden beds, finishing a compost bin, building a foot path and greenhouse (partly in corded wood/stack wall), etc. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills and share experiences! I would prefer self-motivated, hard working travelers that have a minimum of experience but am willing to accommodate folks with little knowledge but a good dose of motivation and determination! Using power tools and hand tools is part of the job so if you have knowledge in that area, that is great! If you are willing to learn, that is also awesome!
    The closest grocery store/post office/liquor store/restaurants are only 5 minutes away (walking), and the woods with hiking trails are 30 seconds away, as is the ocean!!!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private room with double bed in my house. I have a 2 bedroom house, with each bedroom being at opposite ends of the house. That being said, the bedroom you would be using is also my massage room so it periodically needs to be vacated during the day. I would enjoy cooking to be shared but am prepared to cook for volunteers as well if that isn't part of your skill set! Would love to share at least 1 meal a day with volunteers. Helps keep communication flowing!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In our spare time, you can definitely go hiking in beautiful forests or on deserted beaches, you can use my double kayak and/or paddle board to explore some of the small islands in the bay, you can walk around town and explore the Haida cultural museum, the restaurants and library. This is a small community so no shopping malls or chain stores here!!! I also built a mobile sauna which you are free to use!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    There is internet although the connection is not always reliable and there is a limit to the amount of data we can use each month...that being said, the local library also has internet so if you need to work using internet lots, there is a way!

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is room to park your camper van in my yard!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I am allegic to cats so unless you are traveling with your own accommodation (campervan), then no cats please! Dogs are welcomed though! I just got a new dog a week ago and I love dogs! He is a mix border collie and golden retriever. Very cute and cuddly and chewy!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 816628878388

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help our family with some DIY projects in Banff, AB, Canada
Housesit in a gorgeous apartment with our sweet Cat Oskkar in a trendy neighbourhood downtown, Toronto, Canada