Help us out and visit Glastonbury and many other historic sites around Somerset, United Kingdom

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 32 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.03.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 5 - with 3 boys aged 11, 12 and 17. We have our house, various outbuildings and a cottage which is available for holiday lets. There is a vegetable garden and a hectare of former orchard which is now a small wood. We are trying to manage the woodland/orchard, develop the veg garden and maintain the buildings. There is a plan to set up a small glamping operation in the woodland. We have a couple of classic caravans - one which is fully serviceable and at present is where workawayers will stay. Our house is quite small and the the family life hectic.

    The holiday lets are most popular in the summer but we do have guests throughout the year. Glastonbury Pop Festival is held just a mile away and we are always busy then. There are many other local attractions, and other festivals in the area - Shindig, Farmfest, The Scything Fair among others. Wells, about 12 kms away is the smallest city in England with a lovely cathedral. Bruton (10kms) has increased in popularity lately since the arrival of Hauser and Wirth - a major international modern art gallery. Frome (25 kms) has a thriving alternative culture as of course does the town of Glastonbury (10kms) with its Tor rising above the levels.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are in a rural farming area but it is also culturally interesting - Glastonbury - the Vale of Avalon - is near by and there are many other historic sites around Somerset. The name Somerset derives from the fact that in days gone by the people of the area could only occupy the Somerset Levels in the summer. The Levels are a low lying area reaching down to the sea which have been drained and now allowed to be farmed and lived in.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help with the garden and woodland, various building projects (mostly repair/maintenance), changeovers for the cottage and sometimes baby sitting. (Our children are 11, 12 and 17).
    Unless someone arrives with particular skills the maintenance work is low key. In the garden there is weeding, digging, sometimes planting and mowing. The woodland and orchard require thinning in places, chopping firewood, managing nettles and some pruning. Most of the work is straight forward and easily explained to those who don't have rural skills, but it can be quite hard.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and some French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have caravan accommodation, and occasionally room in the house. Meals are taken in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have bicycles that workawayers can use and we can sometimes take people to buses or to sites during time off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Us and the youngest on holiday in Scotland
Our house in winter
The yard and back of the house in autumn
Glastonbury Festival - Worthy Farm stone circle 30 mins walk
The caravan on the left is the accommodation. Here it is with us on holiday in Cornwall
Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 816419888157