Stay on our hobby horse farm in New Brunswick, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 172 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.02.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    126

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have a hobby farm that is hour away from Fredericton, the capital city of New Brunswick. We are a "youngish" retired couple who are enjoying revitalizing our farm and taking care of our four horses. Our farm is 200 acres a combination of forest and cleared pastures with a barn, out buildings and an indoor/outdoor riding arena. There are also trails through our property and others properties next to us that the horses can be ridden on. We have been gradually renovating and restoring the buildings on the property as well as expanding the pastures for the horses. What we need is a bit of help. With several projects on the go there are lots of things to do. During you stay when you are not helping out here on the farm and you are in need of down time it can be arranged to take you to Fredericton. There you can spend a few days in the city or take a mini tour. New Brunswick offers many opportunities to enjoy nature and it's coastline. Hiking, camping, and whale watching are a few things you can participate in while staying here in New Brunswick. A good site to visit to see some of what is available to do in New Brunswick is their tourism site. Quebec to the west and Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia to the east are close enough to take time to visit as well.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are so many things to learn and experience on any farm. The scope and range is up to you what you wish to participate in on our ranch. We have and abundance of native plants, forests and wild life to interact with in on a daily basis. Some of the wildlife here on the ranch would be moose, deer, bear, fox, coyote, raccoons, skunks, and beaver just to name a few. Here on the ranch we grow the majority of our vegetables in a organic manner . This can be an eye opener and the topic of great conversations. Our food winter storage from the vegetables and fruits here on the farm is something that can be incorporated into someones life skills. And lets not forget meal preparation...we have a collection of favorite recipes from our guest, plus a few local dishes for everyone to try and of course add their own home favorites.
    There are projects here that can give you the opportunity to develop your skills and others that give you satisfaction of saying "I did that!" There is the pleasure of interacting with our animals learning that they are individuals too...our German Shepherds Otto and Zita love participating with our guests. We try to always have a few guests here at one time which can spark new friendships and opportunities. This can be all yours you just have to have to come for a visit!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help on our hobby farm. If you are a mechanic we have many pieces of equipment and several vehicles that need general maintenance. Carpentry is another valuable skill as we always have different building projects on the go both large and small. For someone who can handle a chainsaw and snips, we need help with cutting trees and clearing shrubs. With tree cutting we all pitch in to help with hauling away of the branches and debris. We have a few out buildings that need to be cleared out and set up for use. For those who have a superior knowledge and experience with horses we have four horses that need daily exercise and training which also includes the participation in barn and pasture maintenance. Unfortunately we are unable to provide horse back riding for guests who are not expert riders. For those who enjoy the outdoors and gardening we have flower gardens and vegetable gardens that need care and harvesting. Anyone who enjoys cooking and preserving foods can come and take over the kitchen! Household cleaning is also another valuable task on our agenda which also includes dog walking. Our evening meal at the end of the day is a time to relax and enjoy food and conversation. Pitching in and cooking your favorite meal or dessert from time to time would be more than welcome.
    As in every home maintaining the cleanliness of the home and laundry are tasks shared by everyone.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    While staying with us you will be either living in our home or in our guest home. You will be sharing our living space and have your own bedroom. There is wireless internet on the farm which you can have access to. We also have an above ground pool to cool off in on those hot days in the summer. With regards to diet we eat a balanced diet of fruit, vegetables and meat...most of which is regional and vegetable wise produced by us, thus the recipes we cook according to this ideal.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My husband and I love to be active and on the farm this is not a problem. Beyond the projects on the go we love to walk and explore the property with our two dogs. We have a small garden which we grow a few vegetables and berries. We also have high bush cranberries and choke cherries which grow on the property. It is always an adventure learning to prepare jams and preserves. With having 2 to 3 people living with us at one time we need everyone to understand that each person is to be treated with respect. It is best to appreciate our differences and look at our time together as a learning experience. While you are here we are more than willing to help those who wish to expand their language skills in English.
    In this part of New Brunswick there is no public transport from our home to the city of Fredericton. For those who are wanting to tour a bit of the province or the nearby city of Fredericton for a few days, we are more than willing to drop you off in town and pick you up at the end of your adventure.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

A Fall view on the outdoor riding arena
A view of the backyard
The grinning boy, Don Giovanni
Otto and Zita ready for their quad tour
First year growing in the greenhouse
Everyone is ready and waiting to head to the barn
He was such a cute puppy...the Otto
Our old farm truck 1955 Chev needs a little tinkering.
Inside the renovated barn
Our country style kitchen
Me (Barbara) and Heinz
Pool for the hot days of summer
This is one of our guest rooms.










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 814798828897