Self-contained farm at a riverside Marlborough property

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 67 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.01.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our farm is located in a serene valley near Blenheim. We have cows and horses, along with a changing assortment of visiting native wildlife.

    We are always looking to improve the property and so tasks we select for workaway purposes have included tidying gardens, clearing brush adjacent to the river, and improving access to the highest elevations of the property, amongst others. Maybe you like painting?

    Whilst staying here you will be well looked after. Accommodation is a building separate from the main dwelling, clean, tidy and self-contained. We are told guests have a supremely comfortable sleep. Alongside the work we want to get through, we like to also take our workaway guests to explore some of the more interesting spots in Marlborough, such as a houseboat ride through the lesser known but magnificent parts of the Marlborough Sounds. Horse riding may also be possible for experienced horse riders.

    We are (we like to think) a thoughtful and interesting couple. Between the two of us we have interests in such disparate areas as horse riding and foreign policy. We are interested in the world around us, and having workaways guests from a variety of backgrounds, including those with interesting skills, expertise and experiences.

    Your hosts: Mandy is extensively travelled, having lived nine years in the Middle East. She has three horses, runs her own business separate from the farm, and previously worked as a teacher.
    Tony ran his own writing robotics business, and now fills his time with farmwork and attempting increasingly difficult schmaltzy piano pieces. Outside of this he volunteers with different organisations; ambulance, a program for the intellectually impaired, and youth mentoring.

    We would dearly like to build various seats and platforms about the property but sadly are not overly handy with DIY. We are also open to any suggestions about how your background could be a good fit with us.

    You can swim in the river and there are walks nearby. The local reserve has beautiful big kahikatea trees. Half hour from town. Suit those who like the quiet life.

    Strictly no smokers due to health as well as fire risk in the area. There is WiFi but can be slow. Mobile phone signal is limited - Vodafone gets NO signal here, Spark and Skinny usually have an ok signal.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're in an interesting valley with different animals and wildlife around, and are bordered by forestry.
    Well traveled family.
    We'll show you the local area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Depending on the time of year and what suits you, there may be some berry picking (Jan/Feb), weed whacking, cutting and collecting small branches etc, weed spraying, fixing fences, washing windows.
    Building projects if you're able.
    Other projects to suit your skills. Sewing, website building, painting, tell us what you can do.

    We start jobs at 8am. If its raining or frosty we can often find inside jobs but animals still need feeding.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Clean accommodation seperate from the main house. The two rooms and bathroom are shown in the photos. Own cooking facilities but option to share meals with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    No public transport. We can pick up and drop off locally by agreement. We try to show guests around as much as we can.
    Internet may be slow and unreliable over winter. This means you can't count on Netflix etc
    Mobile signal only works with Spark or Skinny, no signal for Vodafone.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Parking is no issue.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 814591259334