Wir suchen nette Leute, die uns in unserem großen Garten mithelfen im wunderschönen ländlichen Oregon, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 796 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.12.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    875

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We like to grow and share nutritious fruits and vegetables. We have participate in a food sharing network through a gleaner club and a local community center. We really could use some help in the garden.

    We have a 2000 sq.ft. greenhouse, acres of blackberries, and several fruit and nut trees. We also have 4 brush goats, a firiendly farm dog who acts as our driveway doorbell, and one black cat who thinks she is a panther. The farm is organic in practice, but not certified.

    We do ask our visitors to help out with the yard and garden, and related maintainance projects, as they are able, for about 5 hrs/day on 5 days during the week. Food is provided, cooking is usually shared among the visitors. Sleeping facilities are bunk-beds in shared bedrooms in an older colorful (and a bit messy) mobile home that serves as our guest house. The kitchen/living room operate as dorm-style common areas. A trove of interesting treasures have accumulated from past visitors.

    We are located on 62 acres several miles from the nearest towns. We like to call it half fields, half woods, 2 creeks, a pond, and a view of Mt. Hood. Our large fields are farmed naturally by neighboring 3rd generation farmers via various methods of no chemical, responsible farming. We utilize some permaculture techniques and sow, tend and harvest the garden mostly by hand. The woods are mostly left to nature, but there are a variety of trails for exploration.

    We are not a refined estate. We are rough around the edges, a bit messy, but love meeting new people.

    We look forward to meeting new people, sharing the beauty of our area, and joining together to learn about and produce good food. We generally have about 2-4 visitor helpers at any one time. Unfortunately, we cannot take folks with pets or who are under 21.

    Our names are John & Paula Manley. Join us! We look forward to your visit.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You would join a group of folks living together, learning to create a productive garden, and building community. We are looking for folks who want to be part of the family, not just a visitor. We strive to cultivate a safe space for everyone to express and explore themselves. You will likely learn just as much about yourself as you will about farming. :-)

    John & Paula Manley, owners of the farm, are retired from outside employment and now seek to enjoy the land, make it more productive, and meet new people with a passion for life. Paula is a retired teacher/counselor/probation officer and a musician. John is a retired land use planner, former bookstore owner, and family history buff.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We try to pair people with projects of interest, from building to gardening to marketing to animal care to blackberry control. All guest house chores are meant to be shared equally amongst everyone. We do ask that you respect the land, the house, the animals, the tools, and the people. We all want to learn/work together and enjoy our time together.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are 2 houses on the land, 1 of which houses our visitors. Sleeping accommodations are mostly bunk beds in shared rooms in an older, somewhat messy, but colorful and comfortable, manufactured home. Everyone has a bed and space for their stuff. There are also many lovely places around the farm to get personal space and enjoy the quiet of the woods, creeks, and pond.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our place is not close to town so having a car is preferable for some folks, but we can transport folks around the area when necessary. Most of our visitors spend some time wandering the forest, playing music, making art or doing other hobbies. There are regular trips to town for groceries and whatnot that you are welcome to come along on. Mt. Hood and the Columbia Gorge are 1 1/2 hrs away, the Pacific Ocean beaches are 2 hrs away, and Portland, Oregon is 50 minutes to the north. There is a beautiful state park 1/2 hour away that has a dozen waterfalls on a day-hike loop trail. We do encourage our visitors to explore the wider area before they depart.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Fiber optic wifi

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We do have room for small camper vans and small RV trailers. Power can be avaiable.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 per week





















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 786288212656