Help with house and gardening at an outdoor activity venue, near Belfast, Northern Ireland

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 144 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a venue for outdoor activities, including paintball, archery, orienteering, raftbuilding, assault course and lots more. We also host weddings (though most of the 19 we had booked for this year have been postponed or cancelled, sadly), so we are pretty varied and there is always something going on. We are currently finishing off some building work, and have been extending our covered space, sheds, and creating a camping area. We have a small vegetable garden, and extensive lawns, woodland, pond etc. The house is quite big, and old, and Workaways are put up in a comfortable room in the attic with its own shower room. We have two very friendly dogs who love meeting new people too, especially when they feed them! We offer a separate sitting/ tv room for volunteers, and I think our catering is pretty good!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are constantly receiving groups of all ages, whether it is a children's activity party, or a church group, or a big wedding, there is plenty of opportunity to meet people. We do a lot of teambuilding which can include skills development - management, communication etc, so it is interesting to see this process. We encourage our resident help to go out and see the country, do tours, and visit the beautiful coast here. We are interested in local (and national) politics, so there can be some lively discussion. I speak French and Spanish so can help with translating.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We always have new projects on the go, and these would include stone-wall building, fencing, joinery (basic), etc. I have lots of ideas for improvements in the garden, but often no time to actually carry them out, so any kind of help would be appreciated. The vegetables regularly need some weeding or other attention, but the area is small. Picking blackcurrants and gooseberries (5 bushes in total) is a gentle way of spending a day. Some cleaning in the house on a wet day would be appreciated, and we plan to decorate the kitchen as soon as we have a moment (or help!) Other painting also required for railings, new woodwork etc. Any help with cooking is always gratefully received!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room with 2 beds in the attic (stairs are narrow and steep) and own shower room. The house is comfortable and workaways would live with us as part of the family and eat meals with us (and occasionally even cook them if you want) We are happy to have vegetarians, but vegans are more of a problem though can be accommodated as we eat quite a lot of eggs (we have hens) and cheese. We have 2 dogs and a cat living in the house. Smokers can use the outdoor areas to smoke.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are very happy to take workaways to buses locally, and are only 30 minutes from Belfast, where they can get a tour bus to the north coast, or do something like a Game of Thrones tour. We have 3 bikes that can be borrowed to use locally, or take on a bus or train to the coast for overnight stays. We expect a bit of help in the house as we would with our own kids (who have all left home) like washing up, a bit of cleaning etc. We eat around 8.30 in the evening but there are always snacks available if you are hungry earlier. We often play card games with our workers in the evening, and include them in activities as much as possible. We have a room with a tv for the workers to watch their own programmes (netflix etc available!) and it also has a piano and drum kit, and guitars, if they are musical. We don't get up too early, and try to have breakfast around 8.30/8.45, start work about 9.30, with coffee break mid-morning, and lunch at about 1.00 and finish work around 5/5.30.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 778359756865