Social Project helping young people through language practice, arts and education in Pantanal Brazil

  • Brasilien
  • Bisher 185 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 04.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a non-profit, a social project (soon to become an official NGO) founded in 2019 with the mission to offer opportunities and strengthen the self-esteem of children and young people in Pantanal, Brazil.

    Our goals are to cultivate hope and promote prosperity in the region through education, culture, information, sports, and artistic interventions.

    As we believe that the exchange of experiences generates a positive impact on the population, volunteers are of huge value!

    We are based in Poconé, a municipality in the state of Mato Grosso, in the Central-West Region of Brazil, at 100 km (approx. 1h 30min) from the state's capital, Cuiabá, and home to the Pantanal Matogrossense National Park.

    This region has one of the lowest Human Development Indexes in Brazil. Plus, it’s full of goldmines and a center for cattle production, which results in a huge environmental and economic inequality.

    We currently support +30 families with food, 2 families with medicine, and +100 children with education, culture, and sports initiatives.

    We have also started a vegetables and local plants garden in our headquarters to start turning our backyard into an example and gardening skills lab to help the city of Poconé. The idea is to build an urban agriculture experience that serves as an example and an opportunity to learn about cultivation and land care for all the involved (kids and adults). We dream that with this we can also help bring food sovereignty to local families.

    This social project was founded by (me) Flávio in memory of my father, Sebastião - well known as Sabá - who educated his 6 sons and 2 daughters with love and respect — both legacies that the project wants to spread to the local community.

    You will enjoy the experience here if you are curious, flexible, open-minded, helpful, and like to live and work with local people.

    Send us a short informal resume and how you want to help. We look forward you to taking part in this human adventure. I know that you’ll fall in love with our culture, welcoming spirit, food, and kindness.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Work, live, and learn together with local people. We can give you fishing, capoeira, and drum first-step lessons. Learn to cook local food. Meet new people and make local friends. Play ball with our people and students. Learn Portuguese.

    A genuine cross-cultural exchange every day during your stay!

    Since the city where we're located is in the Central-West Region of Brazil, opposite side of the biggest cities such as Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, the culture and lifestyle is very unique and different from what travelers usually get to know from our country. You will have the chance to understand firsthand how diverse Brazil is.

    The Pantanal is a natural region encompassing the world's largest tropical wetland area, and the world's largest flooded grasslands. It's recognized by UNESCO as a World Natural Heritage site and Biosphere Reserve, as well as one of the most visited sights in South America.

    If you'd like to go on safaris we can help with the arrangements. The region is one of the best in the world for activities such as birdwatching and seeing the great Spotted Wild Jaguars.

    As I have siblings living in Cuiabá and Chapada dos Guimarães, which I visit often, there will probably be opportunities for you to visit and maybe stay a couple of nights in these areas.

    In Cuiabá, you can visit the city's historic sights and enjoy the lively nightlife on the weekends.

    Chapada dos Guimarães has beautiful waterfalls, a milder climate, and a charming city center.
    There you can visit the Chapada dos Guimarães National Park with its exuberant nature and enjoy hiking or trekking, and take wonderful pictures.

    I treat the people coming to help with the project as I do my friends. The project aims to share love and creativity with its community and these values reflect in the way we welcome our guests!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    - Teaching languages (primarily English. Spanish or French are welcome too.)
    - Teaching young people math and programming
    - Training arts, IT, planning skills, gardening
    - Volunteer teachers and instructors, or any kind of person who likes to interact with kids and the youth, are welcome and encouraged to come and give classes, mentorships, and/or workshops to our students in your field of expertise.

    - Digital marketing, social media, copywriting
    - Video making
    - Graphic design
    - Website development
    - Permaculture, gardening
    - Repair and maintenance

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would like to study French and Spanish a little bit more. I can help you with learning Portuguese.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a simple shared room with a double bed and two single beds. It has a powerful fan, several shelves, and a desk. There's one shared bathroom for volunteers. Bring your towel and toiletries.

    The house has a simple shared living room and kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, and all the kitchenware needed for you to cook your meals. We'll always do our best to make you feel at home!

    We all help out with everything!

    Your food supplies will be up to you. I'm flexible, so we could talk and share the expenses to plan the groceries together if you'd like.

    We have 2 (two) bicycles that you can use to move around the city.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house you'll be staying in is within walking distance of the city's main square where you can find restaurants, markets, medical care, drugstores, and all the services you may need. There are supermarkets nearby that have delivery service.

    Poconé doesn't have trains, subways, or Uber services. There are taxis you can take but they're mostly used to move between municipalities and are kinda expensive to take inside the city.

    There's a bus station that's located relatively close to our headquarters where you can find buses from and to the near towns, including Cuiabá.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a fast and stable internet connexion. There is a desk available in the bedroom you will stay in. You can also work on the terrasse at the back of the house if you prefer :)

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 771462275411

Feedback (5)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)







Discover our animal cruelty-free farm in Vitoria, Brazil
Join our team close to the coast in a typical Azorean town in Santa Catarina, Brazil