Help along side a family with disabilities on a small homestead in Savannah, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 121 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Help a family with disabilities to maintain a 5 acre homestead in Savannah, GA and improve a tiny farm on a bridgeless Island.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Anytime two strangers interact, there is an opportunity for cultural exchange. Here in Savannah we provide history and culture of the English and Spanish settlement of SE coastal USA, and Georgia's pirate past. We also offer hands on experience in the US efforts to develop sustainable agriculture and living. We will tell you stories of our travels and lives and hope you will do the same. My husband is diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome and has a progressive neurological disorder and hearing loss, so we do things quite differently here. I am happy to answer questions about how different and difficult it is to live in this way.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The first week in July I began a remodel project at my tiny farm on Daufuskie Island.

    On Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday I leave my home at 5:30 to travel to the Island where I work at my home there until around 5 p.m. when I begin to travel home again. My commute to work is awesome! I take a boat out to the tiny farm I bought this summer on a bridgeless Island. The commute is 45 mins on the intracoastal waterway where dolphins play and eagles soar and ospreys fish. It is hot, so we work for perhaps 45 minutes, and then rest in the air conditioning for 15 minutes. We take a break for lunch also in the air conditioning. Each day I also spend an hour in the community garden watering and weeding and fertilizing, planting and harvesting.

    The sort of stuff I am doing this week is removing boxes of personal items from an attic space and then hauling trash to the convenience center. Pressure washing a building then painting the exterior. Picking up windfall after Hurricane Dorian and adding the debris to the huglekultur swales I am using to process with mushrooms the compostables which are no longer of use to the tiny farm. Weekly the grass must be mowed. We do not have a dump. At the convenience center belongings no longer wanted are sorted into recycling, burn pile, household garbage, and reusable items. Island residents may take anything that is reusable. Its like a free thrift store. We also need help with moving a bedroom furniture set out of a building so that we can repair the building. There is pressure washing and house painting task to do. My friend who is helping me with this project is also disabled. Both of us have bodies broken in horrible accidents, but we are slowing recovering, learning how to pace ourselves, support our bodies amazing ability to heal its self or adapt to new realities.

    Three days a week I garden for several hours in the morning until the heat drives me indoors, where I wash, sort, and bag, or hang to dry all the food I harvested, last year I filled both my freezers and then learned to can. When I do not have time for that, I take my excess to charities or to food desert neighborhoods. Over the winter I sat by our kitchen fire place with the herbs I hung during harvest and stripped the branches in order to package and shelf the leaves. We are also eating our way through the freezers of food and the pantry full of jars I filled. It is so satisfying a way to live. On our three days off each week, I will be doing this sort of work at my Savannah homestead.

    We have hired a landscape architect to do a sustainable design for our five acres, and a local architect to design our new heated water therapy room. The design phase has begun, and we may be in the construction phase of the water therapy house by the time August arrives. It has been a slow process of transforming our home into something sustainable and self supporting.

    In the middle of October I will move to Japan for three months. If it works out that you are a good match, you could stay while I am in Japan, but you would be hosted by my husband then, rather than by me

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Japanese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our Savannah home has several bedrooms and bathrooms which we may ask you to share with other guests. Our tiny farm has tiny buildings with small bedrooms and one bathroom. There is also a travel trailer that has a queen bed, a kitchenette, a humanure toilet system and an outdoor shower.

    We do not host people who use tobacco products of any kind or who consume excessive amounts of alcohol. Absolutely no illegal activity, such as marijuana possession, cell phone use while driving, drinking and driving, child porn.

    We are early to bed, early to rise, so you will also need to do the same.

    It is a rare pet owner who fits in here. It has been done successfully, but it has also been a disaster, with trusted family pets rushing the door to chase my cats, or pulling free of a leash to maul my chickens.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Savannah is a city rich in history and the arts. Our downtown historic district draws 13 plus million visitors a year. Twice a week I boat out to an Island that is home to an ancient Gullah community. Personally I grow heritage breed animals and plants. In your free time there are beaches, running and boating trails, hiking through state parks, fishing, bicycling, libraries, museums, tours, the list is almost endless. Daufuskie Island has one of the last Gullah communities in the USA, few paved roads or cars, a pen almost empty beach, craving, fishing, shrimping, hunting, wild food forests, an arts community and a community farm where you can learn to milk goats, grow vegetables, run a lumber mill, sew, raise chickens, and any number of useful skills.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    four days on, three days off

We use black soldier fly larva and red wriggler worms to process our kitchen waste, and to produce compost tea which we feed to our kitchen garden.
volunteering with my houseguests at the Daufuskie Island Community Farm and Artisan village.
My tiny half acre farm with a collection of tiny buildings, two living houses, one living trailer, one workshop and one storage building, a grape arbor, and lemon, fig, loquat, plum trees and berry bushes.
We live in a clean house. there is no maid, so everyone cleans up after themselves AND each other.
We have numerous spacious comfortable private guest rooms.
The guest rooms all have private living areas.
There are three bedrooms upstairs to chose from. This bed is a $9K adjustable sleep number type bed with height adjustments for feet and head. The room has no exterior windows, creating a dark, quiet space for sleeping.
This queen bed has adjustable foot and head settings.
Our experimental kitchen garden with raised beds using hugelkultur, companion planting, BSFL, no pesticide, no commercial fertilizer, produces more food than we can eat or give away.
My heritage breed chickens free range during the day and are locked up safely at night. We hatch them and/or raise them from chicks. they provide us with eggs, meat, feathers for art projects, and endless hours of entertainment.
The beach on Daufuskie Island is pristine and private. I rarely see anyone using it.
This winter I enjoy sitting by the kitchen fire to process the herbs I planted this spring, nurtured all summer, harvested in the Fall to hang from my kitchen rafters.
Best friends and partners for over 20 years.
Our house sits 200 yards in from a busy Savannah road that quickly takes us to hospitals, retail outlets, museums, and our boat docked on the Intracoastal Waterway.






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 768247124628