Come and help out with an open friendly family in the countryside near Copenhagen, Denmark

Country

Dänemark

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 390 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.08.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    0

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    84.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family on 6 persons, Dann 53, Christel 52 and our four children Chloe 17, Michel 16, Chili 9 and Chelsea 9, looking for motivated helpers. Please read the job description before contacting us.

    We have bought an old neglected historical farm to be renovated. Parts of our home still appear raw, without ceilings, wallpaper and carpets, but you can easily live here, and we will do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home.

    Dann works on shift at a brewery while Christel is home-schooling Chili & Chelsea and plans the daily work and projects on the farm. Dann often has overtime and therefore have difficulty in achieving all the tasks on our farm.
    Chloe and Michel go to school in Copenhagen so they are often away from home.

    We are not professional farmers but enjoy having our own domestic animals, cultivating our own vegetables, herbs, fruits, nuts and berries that are part of the daily household. The farm's livestock herd consists of a few sheep, goats, ducks and geese. But along the way it will be expanded with landrace hens, pigeons and bees.

    The goal is not to become completely self-sufficient, but to produce some selected foods with much better taste, quality and variation than what one can buy in the supermarket. For us, it gives joy and meaning to be part of the whole process from "land to table" and "expensive birth to slaughter". And then it helps to give our children a knowledge of where the food comes from.

    All cultivation is based on ecological or permacultural principles. We think of the animals in a natural cycle, where they, in addition to creating life and atmosphere on our old farm, give us meat, eggs and milk, eat our vegetable waste, keep the weeds down and provide fertilizer for vegetable garden and compost.

    We dream of converting the old stables into holiday apartments for tourists as well as establishing a small cozy cafe and farm shop where people can buy and taste homemade vegetables, fruits and berries.

    For relaxation we enjoy watching a good movie or sport on television, discusses politics and the world situation, going to a rock concert, nature walks, trips to our beloved capital Copenhagen, making foods on fire, listening to music, reading books or do DIY and other creative things.

    Chili and Chelsea love when the workaways want to play with them in the garden, play board games or teach them some new words in, for example, English, Spanish or French.

    When Chloe & Michel are at home they like to play chess, table tennis, darts or magic the gathering with the workaways. Chloe also wants to improve her French.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    In our family you can learn about Danish language, culture and society. You get an insight into our family's daily lives, norms, values ​​and traditions.

    We have an open mind and enjoy talking about culture, politics and social issues, which means you can ask about anything.

    At our place you will also have the opportunity to learn something about nature, (permacultural) gardening and animal husbandry and to join us creating a large wild nature garden, where we can arrange workshops aboute ecology, permaculture and climate change and demonstrate how easy it is to improve biodiversity in the garden, grow your own vegetables, sort and compost waste, learn to recycle discarded things, etc.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for strong, committed and motivated young people with practical skills like carpentry and gardening (permaculture) who will help us with the daily work in the house and garden and other important tasks.

    If you have experience with websites or fundraising you are also very welcome. The application for financial resources will be used to restore the historic assets of the farm before they will be lost forever.

    We prefer mature workaways who will stay with us for a minimum of 2 weeks.

    Our home is an old farmhouse with large gardens, so there are always things to improve, repair or add. Most work is outdoors in all kinds of weather and requires physical strength. If you usually have a desk job, or if you are not used to physical work our farm is probably not the best choice. To be with us you must be able to work hard, fast and independently and take responsibility for the work you do and also come up with ideas or find solutions to the challenges that may arise.

    Your tasks might include demolition and cleaning bricks, painting, woodwork, refinishing furniture, gardening/landscaping, construction projects, stone and cement work, remove waste, mow into the stable, repairing fences around our fields, cutting firewood, repair bicycles and garden machines, pick fruit and berries and cleaning. If you enjoy cooking, you are also welcome to prepare meals now and then :-).

    We expect you to meet timely for work and keep your mobile in your pocket.

    We want to have a one week trial on your stay. If everything works out for both of us you are welcome to stay as long as you like, if not we will ask you to find another host. Unfortunately we had travellers here where the chemistry just didn´t work out or travellers who had difficulties working more than 3 hour a day and that just don´t work out for us.

    When writing to us, please tell us about your experience in construction or gardening or or what you think you can help us with. We are not looking for people for childcare, daily cooking, entertainment or similar.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Danish: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer you to stay in a private room. We have blankets and duvets. Bathroom are shared with all of us. Free internet, but bring your own computer.

    Bring work clothes for all kinds of weather and indoor shoes as the floors can be cold in winter.

    In the summer-period (may-sept) the accommodation for workawayers can be extended witha tent or caravan in the garden. I provide tent/caravan and sleeping bags.

    We expect 5 hours help 5 days per week or 25 hours pr. Week. The work is usually from Monday to Friday and then you have Saturday and Sunday off. But sometimes we need help on the weekends and then you take time off on 2 weekdays instead. The work is mostly from 8-11 in the morning and again from 13-15 in the afternoon.

    We provide food in the morning, at lunch and for dinner, 5 days a week (Monday to Friday). Weekends only breakfast is served. In the weekends, we expect you to go sightseeing, so you can get to know our country better and our family, can get time alone. We expect you to leave the house after breakfast, but no later than 09.30. We do not expect you to return earlier than 8:00 pm.

    Christel is in charge of the daily cooking. We love to eat and make food from all over the world and it is sometime both strong and spicy. Some days the dishes are without meat. If you want to prepare a national dish from your home country we will be happy.

    To be workaways with us, it is important that you can eat the same as our family. We do not have the time and opportunity to shop special foods or make special dishes. We can therefore not buy vegan/vegetarian food or halal meat.

    We expect that you help in the kitchen the days that you are attending the meals. Everyone helps to cover the table and clean after meals, and emty and fill the dishwasher.

    Coffee and tea are served every evening at 9 o'clock, and we expect that you will come and have fun with us, so we can get to know each other, and learn more about each others culture.

    We do NOT accept any use of hash/marijuana, wild partying, smoking inside the house, extreme drinking or people that need to register, using our address.

    We prefer that you arrive between Sunday - Wednesday.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You are free to do whatever you find interesting, in the freetime. If you like to go somewhere we will try to help you find the best way getting there.

    There are only 2 kilometers from our farmhouse to the center of Ringsted. Ringsted has a long history going back to medieval times when it was without doubt the main city on Zealand.

    At the 'Tingstenene' in the town center, important decisions were made by Danish monarchs who were subsequently laid to rest in the beautiful church of St. Bendts.

    Today Ringsted is a town bustling with life and a lot to offer with activities and entertainment all year round. A popular town for hosting conferences and events, Ringsted is home to shopping malls and a shopping outlet on the outskirts.

    The town center is cozy and welcoming and regularly hosts exciting fairs and festivals. Ringsted also boasts a swimming pool and has leisure facilities on offer to those who seek a more active visit.

    There is a bird sanctuary about 8 km. from our property that you can visit for free as often as you like. They also have many exciting events throughout the year.

    You can reach most of Denmark from Ringsted. Copenhagen is only 45 minutes away by train. Funen and Jutland is only 1½-2 hours away by train. The train leaves every 30 minutes. Be aware of the fact that transport in Denmark can be quite expensive.

    Check out GoMore (car-sharing) to see if you can travel budget to your next destination in Denmark - or if you are lucky maybe somewhere in Europe. Or flixbus.dk for cheap bustickets.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.8)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.4)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 766844444913