Welcome to our animal sanctuary in semi-rural/suburbia - between Brisbane and Surfers Paradise

Country

Australien

Bisher 211 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.08.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We can only host non-smokers! One-two weeks is ideal to stay at our place unless you have a car.

    Generally we can only host one person at a time as we only have a single day-bed available for you. If you are part of a pair, one of you will have to sleep on the couch in the lounge with the cats! HOWEVER, if you are a couple, and one of you is a BUILDER, I am willing to give up my comfy queen bed in return for your building expertise! We need shelves, bookcases, shade covers, awnings...and all sorts of things best left to an experienced builder.

    I'm Jo and live with my daughter, Chantelle, on an acre and a quarter half way between Brisbane and Surfers Paradise in the beautiful Canowindra Estate. We foster unwanted and abandoned cats and kittens. I work at the University and Chantelle is a university student. Chantelle also trains puppies who will grow up to be service dogs and there is a chocolate a labrador in residence to make your visit with us even more fun.

    Please note that it takes 30 minutes by car and just over an hour by public transport to reach the beautiful Gold Coast beaches from our home.

    As of January 2017 all our kittens have grown up but we still have them - all six. If you have allergies I would not recommend that you stay with us.

    We can only host non-smokers.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can help you with your English and share our knowledge of Australia and New Zealand. If you are planning a trip to New Zealand we can tell you about amazing places to visit that you won't find in the tourist brochures.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    If. you are a builder we'd love to have your help!

    If you know how to use a drill we'd especially like to hear from you! We need shelving erected and other maintenance jobs done around the house. We also need a small picket fence built around our vegetable garden.

    We would be delighted if you can spend a week with us helping with gardening - pruning, digging, planting, fertilising and clearing fallen branches. We are replenishing our forest and there are baby pine trees that need to be transplanted.

    We would expect just 3 hours of fast and efficient work a day so that you have plenty of time to explore the area and have fun. We would not expect you to work the day of your arrival or the day of your departure.

    In return for just three hours of hard labour :) we will provide you with a daybed in your own room, breakfast and dinner. It would be great if you can also help with cooking and cleaning up after yourself. We would expect that you would be out and about exploring during the day and would take care of your own lunch but if you are home you can help yourself, or make lunch for us all, or we'll make lunch for us! We are meat eaters and are happy to try and cater for vegetarians and vegans, as long as you don't judge us - we've been judged for our choices before and it is a bit uncomfortable! :). If meat eaters offend you please try to find a vegetarian / vegan family with whom to stay.

    Non-smokers only, please.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and some Italian.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer a comfortable daybed in your own room. We are happy to share our humble home with you - including the bathroom! We have a small house on 4000m2 of land. We have a nice pool and a hammock that you are welcome to use. We have a good range of movies, books and music to help make your stay enjoyable.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a 10-15 minute walk from the train station so you can still get around if you don't have a car. Actually, I just walked it, and at age 50+ it takes a little longer. :) You can easily reach theme parks, and Brisbane city is a 50 minute train ride away. Our local pub offers a free courtesy bus and there are some nice eateries in the area.

    If you can spend three hours a day helping out, and working on your own with minimal instruction at times, and do a good job that you are proud of, we would love to hear from you!

    Hours are negotiable...I am sure we can work something out so that we all get something positive out of this experience.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 6 days a week








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 765878381198