Eco-village life, help us build our little family home in Romãs, Sátão, Portugal



Bisher 80 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    • Do you want to learn how to build a house with eco-friendly materials from scratch?
    Are you passionate about growing healthy organic food?
    Come share your talents and learn some new ones. Everyone motivated with a can-do attitude is welcomed.

    Hello all you great travelling people!
    We are a portuguese/danish family, Durval, Helga, Alma (10 years) and Zaidi (2 years), living together with several other families in an. Approx. 42 hectare off-grid amazing nature area. Together, we bought this land about ten years ago with the intend of living in respect and love for each other and nature, aiming for the utopic self-sufficiency (we are doing pretty good so far😊). We are totally off-grid: our water comes from nearby springs, we use only renewable energies as a source of electricity, and we have compost toilets.

    It was an abandoned little village with many ruins, land for cultivation, rocks and forest areas, many springs and a river going through the land! GOLDMINE for eco-village-self-doer-freaks like us. In the beginning we all camped together and build a common-area-shelter, but over the years we spread out and each person or family found their own area to build their nuclear-nest and our family decided for one of the ruins, which came along with two little old animal ruins.

    Eight years ago, we made one of the little animal ruins into a house thinking in starting small and getting experienced before building the big ruin into our dream-house. At that time, we didn´t think would pass eight years before getting started😊, but coming from a campervan, a little house was enough and other interesting projects came along the way; like planting lots of trees, gardening and building school-buildings for our common home-school-project, teaching in the home-school-project, building the other little ruin into the sheep-stable, keeping bees, lots of good parties, travelling, playing music, theatre, building for other people etc. and lots of time with the life off-grid, with each-other and with all the lovely kids, animals and mama-nature.

    Two years ago, when our youngest daughter was born came the urge and will to finally get on with our dream-house and we started to plan ahead and now this year it´s time to get started. We have the ruin as the foundation of the house, but we will build with many windows and straw, clay and wood. It will be an approx. 100m2 stone, straw, clay and wood house. This year we wish to finish the foundation, part of the earth floor, the wood structure and of course the roofs (tile and green roof).

    We wish you come and stay with us and enter in our little nuclear-community and we wish you stay for as minimum of one week! Until weather gets warmer, we can host maximum two/three people!
    We share the good vegetarian cooking (we provide the ingredients of course), we have a shower in our little home for you to shower and limited WiFi.

    So, if you are motivated to help and if you are interested in meeting alternative ways of living, seeing an eco-village from the inside and spending your time in amazing nature, this could very much be your place.
    We are happy to share this adventure with creative and motivated people. We hope to meet people that we can exchange different cultures; people who like to live in direct contact with nature, people who respect nature, and all nature´s creatures that live here with us.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We wish to share and learn with whoever cross our way. Before starting life in Enterranha we have travelled a lot playing music and making handcraft and we still love playing music at night at the bunfire...while fire is still legal. We have lived in other communities. Worked with theatre, music and festivals. Here in Enterranha we have gathered a lot of experience of how to build up a village/community from scratch. We love to learn and get inspired by other ways of living. So please come and share with us!

  • Arbeit


    we will be finishing the roof of the first part of our house...insulating with we could really need some extra hands:-), garden, cooking, kids etc....yeahhh

    Update: will be insulating the roof with light-straw (straw and clay), here we can have three volunteers helping!
    Update sept 2021: we have now finished the insulation of the roof, but rain came very early this year, and we need help for a lot of practical things, such as firewood, moving the eaucalyptus truncks etc. Helga will not be at home in September, because she went working, so Durval is alone with the kids, which makes it difficult to make heavy/noisy work.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Danish: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Norwegian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Any new words in any language is interesting. Alma our oldest daughter has great interest in Italian.

  • Unterkunft


    Until mid-end April it can get very cold at night and we don´t have room in our house to, so until then we look for volunteers with own campervan.
    End April and forward the weather is normally warm enough to sleep in tents. We have some spare tents, bedding and mattresses if needed.
    Our family is vegetarian...actually we eat mostly vegan. All we can get from the garden, the wild and the local market we love to use in the kitchen, but we also spend a great amount of money in the supermarket:-(

    We provide breakfast and two vegetarian meals a day. We wish to work as a little community, so we will share the task of cooking with you:-)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live right in the middle of the wild rocky north Portugal, and great walks on days of are relaxing and good for the spirit. Next to our land there is an old quarts-mine and many visitors make their way to see if they have their luck in finding pointed quarts. Next to the river running through the land are many good quiet places to hang out.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of space to host campervans. But one really good is under a growing oak-tree.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    You are welcome to bring your dog, but our cat is NOT so welcome to dogs...this means that in our house the dog cannot enter...sorry, she really attacks even though we try to teach her not to:-)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Máximo 4-5 horas por dia, 5 dias por semana

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 761353699665