Help at our home and learn more about native American culture and tribal non-profit in, Minnesota, USA

  • Bisher 617 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 12 Feb. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Everyone in our family has had the Covid shots besides we usually stay well here.

    We help run a non-profit American Indian organization in Pipestone MN with members from many tribes from the US, Canada and Central America. Pipestone is known as the crossroads of the Indian world. Our Mission is to educate the public (tribal as well as non tribal) about our native culture and protect the pipestone quarries for all Tribal people.

    The town of Pipestone is famous for their stone which is used by many of the tribes to make their pipes. We run the gift shop in Pipestone where we sell pipes and various American Indian art and craft supplies, gift items and much more. We also do presentations and workshops including pipemaking. We have taught various traditional craft classes and also run a culture camp where you can learn about tribal culture including cooking, arts and craft and storytelling.

    You will be staying with us; Bud, Rona and our daughter who is currently 17 years old. Camas was home schooled with a little un-schooling mixed in she is currently taking class at USD. We live on a small farm in the country with cats, chickens and a dog we rent our land to a family farmer who raises pigs and cows all free ranged. We have good internet access at home and in our gift shop. You will be helping with a verity of tasks which might be in pipestone or in our home in Garretson. Depending on your experience you might help with cleaning, a building repair project or in the garden? We will provide you the opportunity to visit, ask question and or participate in cultural activities including making items.

    Things to know about our family: I am a bit of a neat freak and expect everyone to pick up after themselves and help with the daily tasks. I tend to keep busy and need help who learn quickly, are self motivated, and don't require supervision to get things done. Many times we will work together and I will be close by if needed, but I prefer not to be a supervisor instead I will give you the tools, information and hands on directions then let you get to it.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We hope to share some of what we know with those who host with us and depending on how long you stay you can even learn some native arts or crafts. We are a Native American Indian family who embrace our culture and spirituality. I am enrolled Cherokee and my Husband Bud and daughter Camas are enrolled Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. We hope that we can also learn a little from our volunteers about where they are from and thing that they do and enjoy. I love to play board games and am currently writing a fantasy book on royalroad.com . Life is beautiful and Creator brings many blessings with each day and with each person we meet.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need people to help us on our farm in Garretson SD you can do a variety of jobs from cleaning, gardening, setting up tipis, building, repairs on our 60-acre farm, and more. Everyone is required to help with daily tasks around the house washing dishes, daily cleaning, cooking or ? along with other work away projects.

    Summers hot and winters are cold really cold. We do most things indoor in the winter need lots of help April, May and June to prepare and upkeep of garden till the plants are established. Been working on a project to build a greenhouse which is partly underground. Hoping to be able to grow plants for a longer period than I can currently. We also do some traveling to do presentations throughout the year. Bud, Camas and I do much of the planning and running Of the gathering in the summer. It is a get together of Native American and nonnative people wanting to learn more about our tribal ways and spirituality.

    We prefer people who want to stay with us at least 2 weeks up to several months. Please only non smoking Volunteers. We hope you are interested in sharing and learning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a spare room or a tipi (Available only in summer) You are welcome to eat with us in fact we prefer this. In our Native culture eating together is an important activity which brings people together creating bonds. We eat mostly organic food, grow a big garden every year and can accommodate most food allergies and special diets. I am mostly a vegetarian (I eat fish once or twice a month) with a gluten sensitivity, dairy allergy, and allergies to many additives and preservatives. My husband Bud isn't a vegetarian we serve meat a few days a week but not at every meal. I prefer to avoid unhealthy junk food in my home, everything in moderation so we do eat a few deserts those are mostly on the healthy side and homemade.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    we need a few folk in April and May and June to get the garden planted and haul brush and cut up trees for firewood! Our winter weather can be very cold and our summers can be hot. There are many things to see in the local area. We live in South Dakota 30 minutes from Sioux Falls. Pipestone is 1-hour drive from a large city and only has 4500 people. Our farm is in Garretson SD. which has only 1,000 residents and we are 4 miles from town. Things our volunteers have done in the spare time include learn beadwork, make a leather bag, carve pipestone, attend local events, drive in theater, Mall of American (4 hour by car away), museums, zoo, just hang out and talk, play board games (Catan, Ascension, Terra Mystica , Carcassonne.) Also, lots of space to take walks through a small town, the prairie and a large private wooded area on our farm.

    For those who might be interested in bringing a minor child I will consider but have had some less than great experiences in the past. Message me if you feel that you and your child are flexible enough to play by my rules. I have a degree in early childhood education with a focus on special needs children. Also, I require a contribution to food expenses for any children who stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a great internet connection more than adequate for most needs.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have space turning around a large vehicle may be tricky but possible no facilities to dump.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 754979434826

Feedback (22)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)






























Come and live with a german family in Leonard, USA
Help on our self sufficiency homestead outside Tallahassee, Florida, USA