Help with DIY projects at an old house in the beautiful countryside, Puysserampion, South-West France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 17 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a Dutch woman (60) with a holiday house in France (Lot et Garonne) just 30 km from Bergerac airport and 90 km from Bordeaux airport. The house (oldest rooms date back to 1770) is situated in the country side, 4 km from Miramont de Guyenne, in a very peaceful setting with beautiful views. The house has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and an attached barn. On 7000 m2 land there's also an old building (former chicken sheds, converted into outdoor kitchen with self-built wood oven for absolutely delicious pizzas) and a hangar (storage for agricultural machinery in the old days). I spend quite some time in this place with my 3 year old dog that I got from the shelter at Begerac one year ago. I speak 5 languages (Dutch, English, French, German and Italian), have lived in several European countries (France, UK and Italy) and a great part of my family have lived in France since 1920. I love cooking, DIY, reading and travelling. I have 3 sons (31, 30 and 21), who live in The Netherlands. I spend as much time as possible in these beautiful surroundings, with stunning sunsets. I am a moderate smoker (trying to quit), but will only do so outside.

    I have bought this house in August 2018 and since then I have done many DIY jobs, with the advice of others and help of videos on YouTube. I have created a bathroom with walk-in shower from scratch (removed former interior), put in tiles etc. I love to reuse old materials, giving them a second life. I am a hard worker and not afraid of new challenges. Last year I have created a modest vegetable garden, with onions, garlic, tomatoes and courgettes. The garden has 3 fig trees, 1 cherry tree, 1 apple tree and soon 1 plum tree and 1 brugnon tree (local fruit, family of nectarine). I try to save as much rain water as I can, thus avoiding using city water to water the plants and vegetable garden. I have a brand new mowing tractor to cut the (endless) grass fields. Lately I have created a 'piste de pétanque' on the foundation of a former horse stable next to the barn. To do so, I removed some 30 centimeters of soil and weeds over a stretch of 84 m2 with just a pickaxe, a shovel and a wheelbarrow.

    From time to time, family members or friends from The Netherlands, France or Italy visit me which I really enjoy. I like to play card games.Once a day (or more) I walk my dog for at least half an hour.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    It would be a challenge to get to know this part of the Southwest of France, with its beatiful sites, typical cuisine (duck meat, prunes etc.) and wines (Côte de Duras). People are open-minded here, there are quite some people from Great Britain who have settled down in the surroundings. In fact, 60% of the inhabitants of Eymet (10 mins drive from here, in the region Dordogne) come from the UK, the majority of which are permanent residents. Its medieval centre is always lively, with lots of restaurants and bars. But also other places, like Allemans du Dropt (4 km) and the mideaval town of Issegeac (30 km), are well worth a visit. Just take a look at the site to discover the Northern part of the region I live in. If you are willing to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and at the same time enjoy good food and the beauty and peacefulness of the French countryside, search no longer!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    What I am looking for is people who can help me demolishing concrete elements and other elements in the barn and installing insulation on the roof. No experience needed, just mussles and hard work ;-).

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I'm always interested in sharing language experiences.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a 2 persons bedroom with its own bathroom. I will prepare your food, but you are of course free to use the kitchen yourself as well. I am always interested in learning new recipes, I like all kinds of food. With or without meat or fish, only vegetables, just surprise me! We will share the living room and garden, which is very big and the outer area has its own chill out corner. From time to time I invite people to enjoy pizzas from the wood oven I built myself in summer 2020, always a big success. The outdoor kitchen also has a plancha (big grill plate of cast iron) with which one can make delicious things. The house does not have central heating, just a wood burner in the living room, but there are other heating ways (electric radiator, hot water bottle in your bed). I have never found it too cold though, I just put on an extra cardigan. Also, the temperature inside has never dropped below 16 degrees Celsius; the last two years we have enjoyed warm weather from March till October. The house has a large veranda overlooking a cross-road (not very busy).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your spare time I could take you to places to visit or even teach you French, English or Dutch, should you be interested. I have been a French teacher for 10 years at a highschool in The Netherlands. I work as a translator for a firm in the UK (English-French-Dutch). nearest towns are 4 km from here, Bergerac airport 30 km and Bordeaux airport 90 km. Nearest train station is Marmande (22 km).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is plenty of room to park the campervan or motorhome, 7 km from here there is a place to empty waste and refill water. The latter can also be done at my place.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    No cats, just dogs. However, there are strict rules for dogs (not in bedrooms, nor corridors towards bedrooms, nor on carpet in living room). Other than that, a dog is very welcome to function as playmate for my own dog (3 years old, crossing labrador and border collie).

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 744634564694