1 / 5

Spend time with horses in a beautiful country environment near Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Bisher 170 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Nov. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We need help with mowing (zero turn, whipper snipper, outdoor work, fencing, tractor and house cleaning) and sorting out our farm sheds. Fluent English essential. We are a family of 5, however only two our daughters still live at home. One is studying at university and the other is completing senior high school. We have 8 horses, three dogs and a cat. We a large house and farm to take care of which keeps us mostly outdoors and very busy. Both of us work full time at home and away so there is often free time during the day. Our local area is beautiful and our previous travellers have loved the area. It is suited to people who enjoy a quiet country lifestyle (with a noisy, busy family :) We are experienced hosts and can host one female, or possibly a couple/two friends travelling together and we have some flexibility for longer term stays to stay two weeks on/travel for two weeks/return. Helpers must be independent thinkers as I work from home and off site. Please check in with us as plans for travellers sometimes change and vacancies come up last minute. So talk with us :).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are experienced hosts and travellers can learn to grow veggies, care for horses and some riding may be possible only under supervision when an adult is home to supervise). We live in a beautiful, friendly country area for travellers to experience the real life in Australia, as opposed to a resort or holiday home. . Our property suits people that want to be out of the city in nature. We do lots of groundwork and training with horses, including barefoot hoof trimming and can teach these skills. It is great if people have basic horse handling skills, like leading, cleaning feet or a sensible approach and common sense attitude. We also sometimes make home brew beer and enjoy having a social drink with our helpers.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Important: As anyone who has been around horses will know that they are lots of work and the ratio of work to fun is about 3:1. We work with our horses on the ground and under saddle which you are able to learn and help us with. Assistance is needed to feed and care for horses and other pets. Other chores include: collect our daughter from bus stop, drive them to part time jobs, water veggie gardens, general household duties, assist with preparing meals, washing, ironing and cleaning. Our travellers need to know how to do basic household tasks and have normal skills adults possess. We have limited time to instruct and watch over every task, However, we will happily show you tasks that are new to you.

    Travellers need to be independent and able to be on their own during the day at times. Independent life skills are important - helpers must have lived out of home before. Must hold a drivers license to drive in Australia and at least two years driving experience. English language skills must be sufficient to stay safe and follow instructions on a farm with animals and other safety hazards. It is important to us that our Helpers respect the goodwill of Workaway as a host program to learn other cultures. As experienced hosts we think it is important to set out clear expectations - helpers who are solely using Workaway to save money, or a room-dwellers and anti-social would be better contacting paid accommodation providers. You will be living in a home with young people and must behave respectfully.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Beautiful, modern home with views and large swimming pool. Guest room has queen size bed. We eat healthy, home cooked meals, multicultural meals, mostly vegetarian with some chicken and meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is no transport nearby so travellers must have a drivers license. A vehicle (manual) can possibly be supplied for stays of 2 weeks plus - but some conditions apply from our insurance company and other than short drives in the local area we do not supply fuel. There are beautiful lakes and bushwalks nearby and there are often kangaroos and other wildlife on our property. The local town, Boonah, is a lovely country town only five minutes away. It has a large supermarket and most other services people need. On days off it is possible to come with me to work in the city, to catch a train elsewhere for short trips or day trips if I am not working at home due to Covid restrictions. We also have kayaks and stand up paddleboards to use on the nearby lake. Past travellers have done 3 day trips to Fraser Island etc. using our home as a base. We expect respectful guests to be included as part of the family and cannot host smokers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of space - running water and electricity available.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 743956231645

Feedback (7)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)