Learn about foraging, permaculture and off-grid life near South Hazleton, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 14 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 3 from the UK, living in Canada. We have been in Canada for nearly 8 years, 5 of which we spent travelling and exploring all across Canada and Alaska and into the Arctic. We are happy to share our experiences travelling and on cool and interesting places to explore and visit.

    We now live on a large off grid acreage in Northern British Columbia. We are striving to be as self sufficient as possible and to grow enough vegetables and fruit to have year round supply and not need to buy any. We follow permaculture principles and no dig growing methods which are working fabulously. We have been working hard to build good soil which is very much lacking on our property. We have built 2 Hugelkulturs and will be starting some new vegetable beds using the Ruth Stout Method this year.

    We have 2 rescue goats and 3 dogs. We are surrounded by thousands of acres of untouched old growth forest on 2 sides and we are high up in the mountains with amazing views. We get a lot of visiting wildlife including bears, moose, coyotes, wolves, lynx, cougars and many birds including large birds of prey. All wildlife is welcome on our property and we live in harmony with them. 2 of our dogs are livestock guardian breeds and they are outside a lot in the daytime patrolling the 7 acres around the house where we live and work. They have proven to be excellent deterrents to keeping the big predators out of those 7 acres just by their presence. All our dogs are welcome in the house anytime they want and all sleep inside at night.

    It is very peaceful here, we can’t see any other sign of human life from our property, we just hear the toot of the far away train sometimes. We are about 25 minutes from a small town and an hour to a larger town with all amenities. We don’t go to town often, maybe once every 2/3 weeks, longer in the height if growing season when we are very busy.

    We follow a whole foods plant based diet and don’t consume any animal products. This is for both health and ethical reasons.

    We are always very busy with projects and finding new ways to do things. We like to relax around a campfire in the summer. Most people would consider where we live remote by conventional standards but we have lived in actual remote places where it’s 5 hours by car to town, so to us we don’t find it remote.

    I am learning about herbalism and have been foraging and growing as many medicinal and culinary herbs as I can. I am happy to share my knowledge of wild foods and herbs and to show how to forage safely and sustainably. Anything I can forage is an added bonus as it hasn’t taken any work from me to produce it.

    .

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    People can learn about foraging, permaculture, off grid life, animal care, life in Canada. As British people now living in Canada I think we have a unique story to share, especially living off grid.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We always have new projects on the go which we would be happy to have help with. Some of the projects for 2021 are as follows:

    Build a large pole barn
    Install and upgrade our solar system
    Developing extensive new vegetable beds
    Improve and fix fencing
    Preparing firewood for next winter
    Tending all the new herbs and vegetables we are growing this year
    Foraging and preserving for wild foods
    Preserving our harvests including making jams, jellies, chutneys and sauerkraut
    Building a root cellar for produce storage
    There are always multiple carpentry and mechanical projects on the go
    Finishing the goat barn
    Interior decorating of the house
    Up cycling furniture
    Growing our social media presence
    General animal care
    Building a porch on the house
    Further dog training

    Any help would be amazing, even just labour. We always have more jobs we’d like to do than time to do them,

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I would love to learn a new language. I did some German at school,but don’t remember a lot. I have a teaching background - not in languages - and would be happy to help someone improve their English.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a large caravan/travel trailer. It does not have toilet facilities, helpers would need to use toilets in the house. It has running water and limited power. It has a full kitchen for cooking meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If travellers have their own transport then there are lots of places to explore in the local area. We don’t head to town very often, at most every 2-3 weeks so if people need to go to town more than that they will need their own transport. There is no public transport close by unfortunately. It is very quiet and peaceful here which is why we love it.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We are more than happy to host fellow travellers in their own vehicle. We can provide a water but don’t have a septic hook up.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 738397564994