Help around the home, gardening, house maintenance, Cairns, Australia



Bisher 207 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hello Workawayers,

    I am a builder and dive instructor who works away and travels a lot. I have a typical Queenslander house that is 80% renovated. I rent out rooms online and to long-term students and travellers.

    I need help with gardens, building maintenance, cleaning, tech stuff, redecorating.

    You will have accommodation provided in exchange of 20 hours work per week approximately. Because I am away about 8 months of the year and most of the time when you will be doing the work away I won't be there I don't supply food. Though there is plenty of gardens that you can eat from and grow your own food while you are here.

    When I'm here we will work together, and when I'm not there I and and previous workawayers have created a house manual which describes what to do.

    Your length of stay can be from 1 week to 12 weeks. Accommodation will be student style accommodation in your own room in a self contained 4 bedroom apartment downstairs sharing bathroom and kitchen with other people. We have fast wifi, TV's, projector in the backyard, organic gardens.

    We are a short walk into town, the Esplanade, and to the Cairns lagoon. You will have time to see Cairns and the surrounding area and do all the outdoor activities that are available in the area. You can manage your own time around your chores. You will have time to do other work if you find a job in Cairns, if you like. You will have a chance at learning how to garden, be a handyman, and creating an organic garden which is an ongoing project of mine with alot of failures jajajajaja, you will be able to add your own character to the house.

    It's important that you are clean and have an eye for detail, work in the gardens with love, and are a little bit handy with power tools, lawn mowers etc.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have a chance to see Cairns and surrounding area. Learn about the history of this area. You will get a chance to learn small building projects as well as learn gardening and raw food etc.. You can pick and choose what you would like to do and learn in all areas.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Hello workawayers,
    I work away a lot and get back every month or 2 and help with maintenance around house and prepare for my next work trip or adventure away. Your chores here are to clean the house, maintain the gardens, general house maintenance.

    If there are any issue and im away you can let me know via whatsapp so I can help.

    I have an organic garden which needs tending to as an ongoing project we have had alot of failures but we are getting there slowly jajajaja. We try and grow as much edible produce as possible on the land we have. I am trying to reduce our carbon footprint as well as eat healthier. We have alot of vegetarians and vegans stay here. We have herbs and spices, vegetables, tropical fruits, citrus fruits, avocado tree, and are constantly looking at ways of improving the garden and now moving into vertical walls to grow more non gmo organic produce.

    House is old but (80%) newly renovated.

    If you are handy then odd jobs in fixing or painting would be handy.

    Your accommodation is a bedroom in a 4 bedroom self contained apartment under the house, Which is like a student style accommodation.

    You will be supplied a room per week in exchange for 3-4 hours a day 5 days a week work. We have developed a little system with the previous workawayers.
    You will have plenty of time to work another job and explore Cairns and the surrounding area.
    I am contactable on whatsapp and email and can respond within a couple of hours normally.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Your accommodation type is your own room in a self contained 4 bedroom apartment sharing a bathroom and kitchen with other people. You will have access to the whole house and gardens etc, kitchen, bathroom and washing machine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    With your time off you can go fishing, diving, see the waterfalls, camping, visit the daintree rainforest, go to the lagoon and swim and get a suntan.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 724647676779