Join our family and help us with our kids while enjoying amazing Rottnest Island, Australia



Bisher 56 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    Hello & Bula!
    We are a family of 4, Maddy (me!), Tue and our two energetic boys Kai (5 years) and Finn (3 years) .
    We live on Rottnest Island, off the coast of Perth which is one of Westerns Australia's most popular tourist destinations, home to the famous furry little Quokka.
    As an A class reserve, it has some of the most spectacular beaches, clear water, amazing diving/snorkeling and hiking opportunities, if you like to be in the outdoors this is the place for you. There are no cars (other than the service vehicles) so we all walk and ride everywhere (the island is 11km long, 5km wide).
    We moved here 8 months ago from Melbourne (Australia) and we haven't looked back, we feel very lucky to live here. The only thing that is challenging is juggling the kids between work as we both work full time, and there is no childcare on the island. So we have connected with a lot of the international backpackers on the island who have helped with some babysitting. We have also had two girls stay with us for about 8 weeks (at different times) in an exchange for accommodation and food for some help with the boys.
    Our home, is a typical beach shack, nothing fancy at all! But a couple hundred meters to the closest beach and it's central to the main settlement area. A lot of this island is heritage listed, and there is much indigenous history and culture to discover, as well as military links in the past.
    We have a private room to offer, as well as food, some water sports equipment to use (stand up paddle board and kayaks) and of course a bicycle.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Cultural diversity is really important to us, and we feel much richer to be able to share and learn from others. A big part of inviting someone into our home is for us to grow.
    What we can offer is an opportunity to experience a family life in Australia. If English is not your first language, you will have lots of practice to use the language with us!
    We are also a mixed family, I am from Melbourne Australia, and Tue is from Fiji. We met there when I was living and working (prior to kids), Tue has been in Australia for 5 years now. We have a lot of island culture and traditions that are important to us, and Tue speaks 3 languages (Fijian, Rotuman and English).

  • Arbeit


    We require approximately 20 hours per week of assistance with the kids. Some of this time will just be one on one with Finn, as Kai may be at school. So what is really important to us is that you enjoy being with children. Kai and Finn are confident little boys who have spent time with an array of people, and I think they are well behaved for that diversity and experience. They are very active and generally love to be outdoors, so bike rides and park plays are what you will do the most of with them. Finn has a nap for 1-2 hours a day, in this time Kai usually does puzzles/drawings etc.
    As someone living in our home we expect the basic household courtesies you would do when sharing a living space like keeping your room in a nice state, clean the kitchen if you've been cooking (or if cooking together one cooks the the washes up etc), help with the clothes washing getting on and off the line and sharing bathroom/sweeping duties etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Fijian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    A gorgeous rustic beach shack! 3 bedrooms, we have one, the boys in another and the third would be yours! A double bed with some storage for clothes. It's cosy and we will all be sharing the bathroom.
    You will be welcome to any food in the house, we shop once a week and make sure there is plenty of fresh food and stables in the cupboard to create with. We are meat eaters so have plenty of that too. We are very happy to cater for requests where we can so if there are some items that bring you comfort for sure let us know and we can try and get it for you, and of course if any dietary requirements we will cater for where its possible. Alcohol would be BYO if you enjoy a drink in the evening.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During your own time you have a bicycle to use to explore the island, there are many many beaches, walking tracks, lighthouses to see and historic buildings to find. An abundance of wild life on the island and marine life to discover, such as Sea lion colonies off the shore, large sting rays and dolphins that jump in the distance. We have a hop on/hop off bus pass you can use to get around the island too!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 697486984545