Explore Brisbane and the Gold Coast and eat well in return for easy tasks around the house, Australia

  • Australien
  • Bisher 97 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 4 Juli 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Hi, we are Steph and Tyrone and we are former workawayers who have returned home and now are needing some help ourselves!

    We did two years of travelling and living abroad in Europe and the United States. During that time we had a few fantastic workaway experiences and we are hoping we can also be great hosts to people coming through Brisbane or the Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia.

    We live in a three-bedroom, two-storey home with our 6-year-old rottweiler Clark - he's very gentle and loving but he's very big so please do not apply if you are afraid of dogs! You must be very comfortable with dogs as he shares most of our living space and one of your tasks could be to walk him!

    A little more about us: we are both 27, Tyrone is a teacher at a local high school and Steph works in PR and comms. We have been married three years and lived in this house for six. When we were travelling we backpacked Europe for three months before living in London for a year where we both worked and travelled as often as possible on weekends and short holidays. Before we came home we backpacked the US for six months. We have also previously been to New Zealand, Fiji, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Japan, South Africa and Tonga. We enjoy binging TV series, watching sport, eating good food and sharing ridiculous travel stories (we have plenty). We are meat-eaters, we don't smoke and we drink occasionally. That's not to say you have to be the same to stay here, just so you can make up your own mind about what you're comfortable with.

    We look forward to reading your requests!
    Steph and Tyrone.

    *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️ Note: we are aware our map shows us in Canberra but we are trying to fix that. We are in Logan City, between Gold Coast and Brisbane *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We'd be only too thrilled to help give you a great Australian experience so you can see what it's like to live here - it's not Crocodile Dundee, we can tell you that much! We work Monday to Friday but are happy to show you around on weekends and evenings and do fun stuff together. If you want to explore in your own free time, there are public transport connections that allow you to get to Brisbane city in 40 mins and the Gold Coast in an hour by train or bus. If you have a car, it is much quicker - 20 mins to Brisbane City and 40 to the Gold Coast beaches. There are plenty of great things to see and do that we can recommend including beautiful nature spots where you can see koalas, wallabies and kangaroos, there are Indigenous art museums, early settler homes and museums just in our little city. Once you get to Brisbane, you have options like South Bank, Eagle St Pier, taking a cruise on a ferry up the river, beautiful skyline viewpoints, shopping and amazing food. The Gold Coast has its theme parks, stunning beaches, the Q1 building. There are casinos and markets and special events held all the time. You will never be bored!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Our home is in desperate need of some renovations and tidying up and as we both work full time, we need more hands on deck to complete some tasks. Much of the helping would be basic things like painting interior and exterior, pressure cleaning, a little demo work, weeding gardens and pruning trees, mowing the lawns, painting fences and perhaps some general cleaning. We don't expect you to be a tradesman (although we do welcome tradesmen with open arms!) but basically just able to follow a Youtube tutorial if necessary and have good attention to detail and a willingness to do the task to the best of your ability. A strong work ethic goes a long way.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    While our house is in this renovation mode, it's not as cosy as it usually is but we can still provide everything you need. There is one shared bathroom (toilet is separate and there is a spare toilet downstairs too, as is typical with Australian houses) and you would have your own bedroom and a proper bed and somewhere to put your belongings - no camp beds or air mattresses or anything like that. We will provide meals including self-serve ingredients for breakfast and lunch and share a meal together for dinner. We believe Workaway should be just as much about making friends, talking and getting to know each other as it is about the tasks and your free time. That said, we appreciate you need private time to rest up too.

    If you are road tripping, we have plenty of space for you to park - there is even space for a caravan or camper if you need it. Your time working can be flexible - you don't have to do five days in a row if you want to do something else on a specific day, you don't have to do five hours straight each day if you want to do some in the morning and some in the afternoon. Whatever works for you. There are convenience stores, bottle shops and fast food that are walking distance from our place.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As a note - we did come across some profiles stating no couples while we were travelling, which was annoying for us. We are more than happy to host couples, or any configuration of people up to three, as long as two don't mind sharing a bed. In fact, it might be nicer to have a buddy with you since we aren't home much through the week.

    Requests of one to three weeks would also be preferred. Please tell us a little about yourself, your usual line of work, how long you're travelling for and where and how much workaway or couchsurfing experience you have. Make mention of any special skills you have that may be useful (again, tradesmen more than welcome!!). It would also be good to tell us what you want to see and do while you're here so we can make sure it happens.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 697234221675

Feedback (5)

Weitere Bilder