French farmhouse home and garden help in Dordogne, France



Bisher 14 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    Hi, I’m Jon. I’m 36 years old and left the UK three years ago for ‘La Belle Vie’ in France. After graduating from university in Cardiff, I helped run and expand a Child Development Organisation for 15 years, that raised standards of Teaching & Learning in Primary Schools, particularly within the more specialist, enrichment subjects such as Music, Drama, Art & PE. This allowed me to then partially retire and put more importance on rest, leisure & building my dream home.

    My home is a charming 18th Century stone Farmhouse, situated in the Purple Perigord (the heart of the Dordogne valley), surrounded by rolling farmland, prestigious vineyards and impressive Chateaux. Saint-Emilion and Monbazillac, two principle wine areas of Bordeaux & Bergerac are just 25 minute drive away and there are many superb wineries located much closer. The region is also renowned for its gastronomy & music scene with concerts and events running throughout the year. The breathtaking Dordogne river is also just 10 minutes from the property where I run a small ‘hobby’ fly fishing business with a boat, offering guided days on the river.

    Formerly an artist’s residence, the property is full of country antique furnishing, objets d’art & curious collectables. There are two swimming pools and a garden that has always been a labour of love, boasting an abundance of roses, wildflowers, herb arrangements & fruit trees. There are two house cats, a fox terrier puppy called Buddy & a family of rare breed miniature sheep. There is also a top performing ‘Gite’ / guesthouse accommodation on the property that is advertised to holiday makers from July - September.

    Until the summer when I’m hosting ‘gite’ guests and friends and family that visit regularly, it’s just me at the property and I keep myself busy looking after the animals, doing home improvement projects, playing tennis & golf, spending time on the river and socialising with a good group of local friends. Other interests include cooking (especially outdoors using produce grown from the garden), film & music. I also have a home in Bristol and travel back to see friends & family in the UK fairly often.

    I am looking for someone to help with the maintenance of the property inside & out and with repairs and renovation projects.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be within one of France’s principle wine regions with Chateaux steeped in history on your doorstep. There is an extensive food market scene where local produce and delicacies are proudly & passionately on offer every day. People also travel from far afield to forage for truffles & cep mushrooms in the woodlands surrounding the property and there are walking routes set-out all across the commune that attract ramblers from all over. Cycling too is a very popular activity and the Tour de France is often racing through the region, this year just 15 minutes away.

    The Dordogne river basin is recognised by UNESCO for its outstanding setting and natural heritage and added to the World Network of Biosphere Reserves. I can teach you how to Fly Fish & all that I know on the subject and introduce you to the tennis club & golf society - I have a degree in Coaching, which could come in handy if any of that is of interest. I can happily get you trained-up on the boat too if you ever wanted to do any of your own river excursions with picnic on-board etc. There’s also some fantastic freshwater swimming and kayaking to be done on the river.

  • Arbeit


    House Cleaning tasks
    Gardening tasks
    DIY home improvement & renovation projects - expertise not required though, just a creative & willing mind
    Preparing the occasional meal
    Occasional animal sitting (two cats, a pup & some sheep) if I am away

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    The house is comprised of 3 Sections. Section ‘1’ is a summer living space consisting of a Living Room & Bedroom with en-suite Bathroom - this is typically shut-off in the winter as the space is not required. As with Section ‘1’, Section ‘2’ is what is offered to the paying ‘gite’ guests in the Summer, consisting of an upstairs space with two Bedrooms & 1 Bathroom (with bathtub) and a downstairs space with open plan Kitchen and a Pantry with utilities and Bathroom (with Shower). The upstairs space of Section ‘2’ will be your sleeping quarters and private space. Section ‘3’ is my personal living quarters.

    The accommodation is heated by 3 substantially sized Fire Places - one on the ground floor of each of the 3 Sections. The fire places connect to a ventilation system, which channels the heat throughout the accommodation.

    The Pantry will always be stocked with food & drink of your choosing. Eating arrangements are very flexible and you can have a meal how and when you like. I tend to only have one meal a day in the evening and I’m happy to share the cooking when having shared meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In terms of transport, I am happy to provide Car Insurance & the use of my vehicle (Range Rover) whenever it’s not in use. There is also a good train network in the area that can get you to the major hubs like Bordeaux etc very easily & affordably. Always willing to provide lifts to and from public transport stations. There’s a couple of good cycle bikes in the barn that you can use freely too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 696861626491