Help craft an off-grid natural home and reclaim wilded acres in lovely mountaintop retreat, Rensselaerville, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 20 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Apr. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    Openings for 2023 are currently in May and June.

    This simple off-grid home sits on beautiful land on top of a hill with great views.

    It was once a simple one-room cabin. I added on an addition, but a life challenge meant I needed to leave for many years, with only short visits. Therefore it is in a state of neglect, though still so lovely!! The photos are from a few years back. Currently, the sheathing has become more weathered, so in need of being redone, and the grasses have been left to grow and bushes left untrimmed. It looks more wild right now, but the photos give you an idea of what we will be bringing it back to.

    Our property has a beautiful spring fed pond for swimming and fishing, fruit trees and herb and veggie gardens (once brought back to life). The house is in process, but cozy and welcoming. We heat with a woodstove, cook with propane (or woodstove in winter), draw water from a spring fed well, and have an indoor composting toilet. We carry our gray water out to the gardens, and bathe either down at the pond, or with rainwater near the house, or with a solar-heated shower bag strung from a tree (or by the woodstove in winter).

    I am an herbalist, plant student and teacher, mother (of grown son), yoga practitioner and teacher, lover of expressive writing and painting, and woman passionate about enjoying life and being present. Since I am currently working on nourishing my own health, I welcome help around the house and gardens and am thrilled to share my space, great food, and my knowledge in return.

    If I could say one goal of life here it would be to live luxuriously and simply at the same time -- Luxury in the form of great friends, good nourishing foods, warmth, fresh air, lots of sunlight, and sparkling water. Simple in our intimate relationship with the resources we use for food, water, bathing, cooking, heating, etc.

    There is room for several people in the house, with simple partitions for privacy. And of course there is lots of room to camp on the land, for those who prefer, while sharing the common areas of the house during the day.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I love meeting new people, learning about you and your cultures and your life experiences. Here, you can enjoy a lovely mountaintop retreat with great vistas. You can also experience life lived in a simple close to the earth way, either to see if it is to your liking or learn more about how to do it yourself. I have lived this way for decades so have lots to share about the ups and downs of it. You will learn lots about gardening and plants, and herbs and foods if you wish. I have been teaching and writing on these topics for almost 20 years, as well as teaching yoga and somatic awareness and creative expression through art and writing.

  • Arbeit


    Starting this year, I plan to return for at least a couple months a year to:
    -- Reclaim my neglected land, get my gardens back into production, and add to the productivity of the land with fruit trees, perennial plants, fruit arbors, and trees and bushes for coppicing, herbal medicine, basket making, and plant-cloth dying.
    --Finish up my home by redoing the shell, then fleshing out the interior with earthen walls and plaster, earthen floors, wood and granite kitchen, earthen build around woodstove, cold box for food storage, and indoor and outdoor wood-fired cooking (both the last to get off propane).
    -- Upgrade my simple one-panel solar system with four panels on the roof and better battery bank.
    -- Also add: 2 stone patios and 1 wooden covered porch with solar powered clothes washing machine and freezer; Outdoor wood-fired tub; Arbors; Upstairs small porch
    -- Clean out my shed and then add windows and doors, earthen plaster, earthen floor, woodstove - to serve as guest space and workshop space

    This year, and likely next, the House focus will especially be on:

    * re-doing the sheathing on the house, putting on flashing, then putting on the cedar siding - perhaps re-doing some of the window and door framing
    * removing the temporarily placed interior insulation and sheetrock
    * building a more luxurious composting toilet setup inside
    * taking out an interior wooden floor on the initial cabin

    Outside, this year, and likely the coming few, the focus will be on:

    * grooming the acre that is being "landscaped" with mowing and pruning and tending to early plantings
    * reclaiming the abandoned gardens by cleaning out unwanted plants, spreading compost, and laying down a mulch and/or cover crop
    * dividing and transplanting some prolific plants
    * sorting through construction supplies piled in the shed, to clear away excess and make a neat home for those things to keep
    * rebuilding the outdoor compost bins
    * re-working an outdoor structure, partly built, into an outdoor compost toilet and/or shower room
    * patching up holes in the stone driveway, and walkway
    * reclaiming and rebuilding our pond's dock, that has come loose and is now floating free
    * cutting down Ash trees that have succumbed to the borer, then cutting up into firewood

    AND if you have experience with any of the following and feel up to taking on the project yourself you would also be very welcome!:

    * inipi/earthen sauna
    * cob hot tub
    * outdoor solar heated shower
    * arbors for grape, kiwi, and/or wisteria
    * greenhouse
    * outdoor wood-fired oven and/or stove top
    * earthen plaster
    * pruning of old wild apple and pear trees
    * setting up coppice crops
    * brush clearing with scythe or machete to create walking trails through the 14 acres

    As an herbalist too I welcome help with harvests, on the land and in the nearby hills and valleys. No experience is necessary - I love to teach plants!!

    I ask only about 25 hours a week. In addition I expect you to care for your share of the household chores, such as dishes, sweeping, waters, and compost, and any shared meals.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I have joyfully and patiently helped people from around the world improve their English. I am currently studying Swahili, refreshing my school learned French, starting with a bit of Spanish, and slowly trying my hand at Hebrew.

  • Unterkunft


    You are welcome to stay in the house with areas curtained off for privacy if that is wanted. You are also welcome to camp outside at night and use the house during the day. I have one 2-room tent available for that, and 14 acres on which to find an ideal spot.

    Food is included with your stay. We get our food from the property, from nearby farms or from the nearest store or food co-op. I do not have food restrictions. We like eating together, especially in the evening, though you are welcome to eat on your own if you prefer. You are responsible for preparing your meals and cleaning up after yourself.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In addition to the beauty of the land here, a simple walk on the adjacent roads will offer great sights of valleys and mountains. Nearby is a large nature preserve with miles of hiking trails and weekly nature walks. For a day trip you can drive down to the train and venture into New York City, only a 3 hour drive away.

    I have great passions about how I choose to live but am not fanatical about them for myself or those who visit. I can't consider all the possible "don't"s on the property but, from past experience, I can say no animals, smoke, or heavy drinking. Open communication is very helpful. Also, I prefer that most nights, if you travel away, you return to the property by sunset since we tend to settle down then.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes, I can host you, since it is a wonderfully peaceful place to work. However!!! I do not have wifi. If you have, for example, a Verizon hotspot, our mountain top location gives decent, though not always guaranteed, reception.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is a parking area (not paved) where people have parked their rvs well in the past, with small help of their levelers. It is dry camping though, no septic or plumbed water, or electricity. Eventually, one of my desired projects for the property is to create a few, even more level, parking spots, with their own small yards, perhaps even in reach of the power lines, if desired.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    About 25 hours a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 692833398775

Weitere Bilder


Live and learn in Hawaii- Help non-profit community leaders with their family and homestead on big island. Kapaau
Gardening help needed in Richmond, Virginia, USA