Help on the First Certified Organic Dairy Farm in Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Bisher 203 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.11.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is the first certified organic dairy farm in Ecuador. We embarked on this project nineteen years ago and have been working hard to achieve the level of quality which our products promote. We are passionate about our products and aim to stimulate the market for organic products as well as creating awareness on this topic.
    As we are only two people who run this business (and farm), there is always a long list of things that has to be done. We do not have fixed schedules and each day presents new and different challenges and tasks. We have a tiny dairy where we milk around twenty cows daily, in the morning and afternoon. Once a week we process a batch of milk (pasteurising, bottling, labelling, sealing), which we also use to produce fresh cheese (queso fresco) and cream. Once every two weeks we also make yoghurt as well as caramel (known as manjar or dulce de leche in South America) and ghee. These products are sold on markets over weekends and at some restaurants and health stores.
    Being a certified organic farm means that there are many additional rules and regulations which we have to abide by and which take up a lot of time. Although this is our main business, there are millions of other things that have to be done on a daily basis to keep the farm up and running. We have a greenhouse with vegetables, fruits and flowers which requires constant maintenance. Same goes for the garden and the house! Taking care of the cows, sheep and horses also take up time and energy.
    If you are truly interested in helping out, please be aware that we work very hard - as a team - to get things done! In between daily tasks, we enjoy hearty meals together and love having a good laugh. We are situated in the Cordillera Oriental of the Andes mountain range; around an hour’s drive east of Quito. It is a beautiful area at a high altitude (3700m, with an average maximum of 12°C). On a clear day, some snow-capped volcanoes can be seen from this páramo area. When time allows, there are beautiful short hikes to do around the farm with great views.
    We invite anyone who is prepared to help out with whichever task we have on hand, to come and stay with us and experience life in the countryside of Ecuador.

    Note

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Jorge is Brazilian, so you can learn some Portuguese if interested. He can also share some interesting dishes from Brazil. Maru likes cooking typical Ecuadorian dishes like soups and is always eager to share recipes. If you are learning Spanish, you will definitely leave speaking better Spanish. You will also learn a lot about what it the production of certified organic products entails.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help is needed with weeding, painting, planting trees, cutting wood and with all parts of the dairy production. We have a few horses that have not been mounted in a while and could do with some attention when there is time, although they are not the main priority at the moment.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Rooms in the house with bedding provided. Three meals a day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Please note that we do not have cellular reception on the farm, but we do have wifi.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.8)

















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 691815982852