Help around the farm with the animals and fencing and renovations of an old tobacco barn in Dordogne, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 40 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.08.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, We are family farmers who moved from Zimbabwe to the Dordogne back in 2004. We have a flock of 300 sheep, 20 goats, 10 chickens some ducks and 10 pigs and growing in number all the time. We produce meat in an extensive and sustainable farming system. We process and sell all our own products in the local markets and on various delivery routes in our area.
    Our property also includes managing 30 hectares of woods and we are currently renovating and converting an old tobacco barn into a home for our family which includes 3 children, 3 border collies and 4 cats. The children are 21, 18 and 10 so they are quite active and are in and out depending on their education level and social calendar.
    Our home is an hour from Bordeaux in the middle of the forest. We have lots of friends in the area and do socialise quite alot during the weekend.
    We drink A LOT of tea so we are very good at boiling a kettle and are only really really fussy about what milk we use in our tea and that comes from our local dairy farmer.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They could benefit from living with people who are used to moving continent and living within different cultures. Seeing different farming techniques and exchanging ideas. The whole chain of food production from birth, to growth, to processing, to selling, to customer.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like help around the farm with the animals and fencing. Woodland management. Also assistance in the butchery with meat preparation (I add that we do not not slaughter on the farm we deliver animals to a local abattoir). Helping on our tabacco barn conversion. And if anyone feels like cooking that would be great too! Obviously we recognise that all things cannot be done by all people so depending on the abilities of our volunteers we can modify the help that we require.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A mobile home with a double bedroom, limited cooking facilities and living area. Own toilet, but shared shower/bath with the family.
    Breakfast is prepared by the volunteers for themselves. Lunch and supper would be a communal event depending on workload for the day and who is available to cook.
    All food would be provided.
    Although our house is not enormous we do benefit from living in 40 hectares of farmland with our neighbours about 800m away, so there is always space to sit outdoors, escape and watch the birds.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 15 minutes from a train line that takes you to either Bordeaux or Perigueux. From Bordeaux there are train and bus links up to Paris or down into Spain. There are the vineyards to our west and then caves, castles and prehistoric sites to our east. Canoeing and swimming on our local rivers and night markets during the summer where you can eat drink and be merry with the locals and the tourists. A car is necessary if your primary goal is siteseeing but it is possible to hire cars from a local supermarket and the daily rate is not too expensive. A lift to a train station or bus is always available.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 669161115412