Come and help us launch our inclusive and awareness raising projects near Arles, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 39 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi! We're a French-British family living in the South of France near the town of Arles. I'm Anna, originally from the UK I moved to France in 2004. Benoit, my husband, was born and brought up here. We have two children: Simon, 13 and Chloé, 8. Simon has PMLD (profound and multiple learning disabilities) meaning that he is non-verbal and has a visual deficiency and some difficulties with motor skills. Despite his difficulties, he's a fun-loving, affectionate, very happy child. Chloé is a very bubbly, determined, creative bilingual girl who loves meeting new people. We speak a mixture of English and French at home!

    I work as an English-language teacher in Arles and Benoit works as a farmer (hay and olives). We live on his farmland in the house we had built in 2007. We live about 10kms from the nearest town where you can find all you need in terms of amenities, restaurants, cinema etc. Simon goes to a special needs school 30 minutes away and Chloé goes to the local primary school.

    We have a good-sized garden and plenty of fields around us! We also have a small craft-beer brewery next to our house which belongs to a friend of ours.

    The area we live in is really beautiful with lots of fascinating local places to visit.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Visitors who are interested in improving their French and / or English skills will be able to practise both languages with us. As a qualified teacher, I can help visitors with both languages and will be more than happy to do so. I'm also fascinated by foreign cultures and languages and would gladly learn some of the languages that visitors to our home might speak! As I work in a language school, you could also come and take part in language classes while I'm working; I'd be happy to pay for some classes in exchange for help at home and in our projects.

    Another aspect that I think could be interesting for visitors is to exchange on ideas and projects related to education and inclusion. Inclusion is very little developed in France (my son has no access to school education for example) and this is something that I'm trying to change. I'd love to know more about how inclusion is promoted in other countries as sharing ideas helps projects to grow. I'm trying to create a community of inclusive practitioners here so any interest / help / participation would no doubt be enriching for both us and for visitors.

    And finally, visitors would be able to live in a beautiful, open, sunny (most of the year!) agricultural environment, learn about the production of the farm and visit all the amazing sites nearby.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are several reasons for us offering workaway stays: to get some help around the house and with our two children, to launch our fundraising to build an inclusive home for our son for when he's older and to get to meet interesting people from different horizons and share our experiences and interests.

    We're really at the beginning of our inclusive living project so far but my aim is to have a number of activities running both to raise funds and also to increase awareness of disability and difference in the local community.

    We have a small shop in our house where we sell local products and I'm planning on selling items whose funds would contribute to our project. We need help in organising sales, creating small items to sell (sewing skills would be much appreciated!), greeting people who come to the shop when we get it up and running properly.

    I'd also like to create sensory spaces in our garden both for Simon but also to welcome other people from the local community with disabilities to have a calming, relaxing environment to come to. All ideas and creativity will therefore be most welcomed (gardening, woodworking etc).

    Although I work in the day, I'm generally available to take care of the children in the evenings. I would however appreciate some help with the children particularly Wednesdays and at weekends (taking Simon for a walk / playing with Simon occasionally to allow me to get on with things (as Simon requires constant supervision), playing (and creating!) with our daughter who's generally got lots of creative ideas and energy and helping out with meals / feeding Simon). With our son, I practise an educational method called Intensive Interaction. I'm currently training to be a professional practitioner and would happily tell workawayers about it and explain how to practise. It's a very natural, respectful way of teaching / learning communication.

    Finally, as a busy farmer, my husband would love some help around the farm occasionally....particularly with his very busy irrigation programme from March to October. He uses a small motorbike to get around the land which he could lend to workawayers who feel comfortable doing that.

    Finally, I might occasionally ask for a little help around the house (helping with cooking mainly) but nothing too difficult!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Russisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a 2-storey house on our farm. We live upstairs and we have an apartment downstairs for guests to use (with an independent entrance, bathroom, toilet and terrace).

    We don't yet have a kitchen downstairs but I'd love some help creating a small indoor / outdoor kitchen area downstairs that workawayers would then be able to use to have a few quieter, independent evenings.

    The house is about a 10 minute drive from the nearest town with no public transport links nearby but we could provide some help for getting about and going out particularly on days when I'm going out to work. Weekends, however, we often stay around the house enjoying the peace and quiet of the countryside.

    There is also a train station 7-8km from the house with links to Marseille, Arles, Avignon and beyond. Please be aware though that you will be in the countryside and not able to walk to any shops etc.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During time off, there's lots to do around here. Arles is only a 15 minute drive away where there are lots of Roman sites to visit (amphitheatre, antique theatre, underground passages etc). Avignon is just a 30 minute train ride with its famous Pope's palace and theatre festival in the summer. Marseille is a one hour journey in the opposite direction with a really eclectic mix of cultural sites, markets, ports and the sea! Then there's the medieval site of Les Baux de Provence just 20 minutes away and the stunning natural areas of the Alpilles (the little Alps) and the Camargue just a short drive away. We'd be happy to help you discover the local area.

    And then there's also the possibility of getting to know locals through the language school I work in and the non profit organisation that I run.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The visitor's apartment has plenty of space in which to work as well. We have had internet connection problems in the past but we've recently got a new connection and so far it seems much better. If that changes, I'll update here as necessary. I manage to teach online now using our home connection.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of parking space available

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 869181658528