Help in a baroque garden in the romantic Lahn valley between Frankfurt and Cologne, Germany

Country

Deutschland

Bisher 345 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    58  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We - an artist & translator/writer couple with two student kids - live in a baroque manor house right in the romantic, beautiful holiday area of the Lahn valley, halfway between Frankfurt and Cologne. We always need help in our large historic garden, and we love interesting conversations. The famous historic towns of Limburg and Bad Ems are in bicycle distance of our place, and there are ample possibilities for hiking, biking, swimming and canoeing in the surrounding Nature Park of the Lahn valley.

    Our big old house was built in 1790 as an aristocratic hunting lodge and has huge, beautiful gardens which extend right down to the river. There is always things to do there - raking leaves, mowing the lawn, cutting trees, weeding flowerbeds. It's physical help, but not too hard, and usually it should be fun because you can enjoy nature and garden while you work. We find the right job for everyone, whether you like slow, precise jobs or rough stuff.

    Most volunteers help from 9 a.m. until lunch (ca. 1.30 p.m.) and spend the afternoon relaxing or exploring the area. The forest starts right behind the house, with a beautiful, rocky little gorge. A beautiful and very idyllic place for nature lovers, with perfect opportunities for swimming in the river, hiking, biking and canoeing. We have bicycles you can use, and a canoe. We encourage volunteers to explore the beautiful surroundings, including the lovely historic towns of Limburg, Diez and Bad Ems - they're worth it!

    Our place is great for couples, and we prefer hosting two people, be it friends or partners. If you travel alone, you should be the kind of person who enjoys spending time outdoors by yourself. You'll get your own little guest apartment with a private bathroom and toilet. As a general rule, workawayers are welcome to stay for one or two weeks (5 days work + 2 days weekend + arrival/ departure).

    An important last remark: As we do want the workaway system to be an environmentally sustainable one, we will NOT host people who fly into Germany and back home again just to stay with us (this has happened before and has been asked for again).

    As for COVID, we would like you to take a test when you arrive at our place (we will both be vaccinated soon).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers can learn a lot about gardening and nature (including how to identify and cook mushrooms and wild herbs), but also about German art, literature and politics. We love reading and have a huge library of German, English and French books - feel free to use it while you are here! The same goes for the piano, if you know how to play. As we all like cooking and eating, you'll get to know some German recipes, if you want...

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Guests who are willing to help outdoors in the garden (mowing the lawn, weeding, cutting hedges etc.) are very welcome. It is important that you don't mind getting your hands dirty or helping outside even if the weather is not perfect. Gardening enthusiasts will love our place!

    We recommend you get a travel insurance - it is not expensive and saves you (and your hosts) a lot of trouble in case you get ill.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Hungarian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Arabisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We speak English and French fluently, and we do enjoy teaching you German.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    1-2 Volunteers can stay in our guest room with a double bed, a private bathroom and toilet (and a view of the river). We cook organic & vegetarian. No pets, no smoking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a train station in the next village, 3 km from the house (10 min. by bike, we can also take you by car).

    Activities other volunteers have enjoyed include:
    - Visiting the beautiful medieval town of Limburg with its famous cathedral, half-timbered houses from the 12th to 14th century and a lovely farmers' market
    - A trip to the historic spa town of Bad Ems, ideal for spending a rainy afternoon in the luxurious thermal baths
    - Swimming in the river (in summer...)
    - Hiking or jogging on scenic trails in the beautiful forests and along the small gorges and valleys
    - Taking the bicycles for tours along the river on the famous "Lahnradweg" (Lahn Bike Path)
    - Canoeing on the river (we have a canoe and you can start right from the garden)
    - Taking the train for day trips to Koblenz, Frankfurt, Wiesbaden or Cologne (45 min - 1,5 hrs away)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We do have a fast internet connection, so you are welcome to work on online projects in your spare time.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is a nice parking space about 50 meters from our house, on the edge of the forest.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 668297742864