Enjoy living with a nearby lake and lots of projects to get done in Boreal Forest, USA



Bisher 468 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Travel restrictions to Alaska continue to change. Please look into this before writing to me. Here's a page with information for traveling to Alaska:

    I have a yurt which, through the help of Workaway, I am now renting nightly through the short rentals website but I host workaway people off and on.

    I live in a cabin and have a yurt on 24 acres. I think volunteers would be interested in staying in the boreal forest (spruce/birch) and learn a bit about life in the far north... I heat with wood but I do have electricity. I have three sled dogs. I live alone and work full time so it has been difficult to keep up with all the things around the homestead. I could use some help. :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am a former park ranger (Denali National Park) and outdoor educator and can teach you about Alaska history, plants and animals, processing salmon or butchering moose depending on the season and a lot more. I have 24 acres of peaceful Alaskan boreal forest. You can learn what it is like to live in a small rural village in Alaska. You can learn about sled dogs, building, heating with wood, berry picking, smoking salmon. There is a lake to canoe and stand up paddleboard and swim in when it is warm enough. I also have a sauna. I have bicycles and a spare car.

  • Arbeit


    Here are my projects:

    Reclaim the sauna from the squirrels! First they need to be banished and then repairs can be made. We have to take down the inside walls and replace insulation.

    Staining boards for siding. Finish putting siding up on my house. This is an easy job and not even too high off the ground (8' ladder). It goes fast with two people.

    Painting the trim on my house

    Building a boardwalk. Every Workaway person has helped build my boardwalk. It is about 50 feet long and I need another 50 feet built.

    Haul, split and stack firewood. This is an endless chore but fun and mindless.

    I have three sled dogs that love to be taken on walks while I am at my day job.

    Brushing out a trail on my property using small hand tools (lopper, saw). This project has been on the list forever and never seems to get done. Maybe this is the year!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You would be sleeping in a 14' yurt. The yurt is heated with a wood stove. There is a double bed in the yurt... so one person or couple. The yurt is very private and has its own trail. There is an outhouse nearby. Gravity cold water available in summer. You can use my indoor plumbing for laundry and bathing. There is a fridge and small propane stove in the yurt for your own cooking.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I live only 7 miles from the fun and funky village of Talkeetna. There are restaurants, bars, rafting, fishing, flight seeing, zipline, a museum, arts hangar, concerts, etc. Talkeetna is a jumping off place for getting into the backcountry and mountain climbing. I have an extra bicycle and there is a bike path into town. There is a shuttle into town that runs daily. I have an extra vehicle (beater with a heater) if you have a valid driver's license.

    I am on a lake with a canoe. There are some easy trails nearby for walking and biking... and fantastic hiking trails in Denali State Park about 50 miles away for tundra hiking.
    I live alone and am fairly quiet. I've lived here about 20 years and work in downtown Talkeetna.

    I would expect volunteers to take good care of my dogs, ask questions if they don't understand the project (building, painting, etc.) Let me know if they are not interested in doing something... there are lots of things to do here. Clean up after themselves and put tools away after using them. (Don't leave stuff out in the rain!)
    These are not projects that require heavy lifting but you should be physically fit and have some construction experience or aptitude... or willingness to learn.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I've got a big driveway with electricity.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    If they are friendly dogs then that is okay.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Workaway Loren showing off the boardwalk she helped build. Venus the wonder dog approves.
Helping to build a ramp for the yurt... just steps away from the lake.
Workaway-er Athena shows off the fiddlehead ferns she picked. We had some for dinner.
That's me, your host Laura
Me and a Workaway-er hauling the wood stove to the yurt. There is now heat in the yurt!
This is my cabin which you will use for cooking and showering.
Swans migrate through in the Spring and Fall.
My dogs Malek and Venus; I put a ski trail on the lake in winter.
The lake for canoeing and swimming.
There's a canoe for your use on the lake.
14' yurt with deck. Where you would stay. I've got more of the railing up and it is getting wired for electricity in the next couple of weeks.
Denali State Park is 50 miles away and you can hike to the tundra.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.6)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 667817377862