Help with a garden on the edge of an ancient forest near Glengarriff in glorious West Cork, Ireland

Country

Irland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 205 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    0

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Due to the pandemic, I can only take volunteers who are already Ireland. If you're interested, please contact me and we'll see if we can make your visit safe. This is a place that's exceptionally beautiful, with easy outdoor work, plenty of free time, good food, and a comfortable, private room of your own.

    I grow a kitchen garden with greenhouse, and a naturalistic garden surrounding my house that overlooks the forest of the Glengarriff Nature Reserve. I need volunteer help maintaining the garden and sometimes minor household improvements. There's always weeding to do but I try to vary daily tasks in the garden.

    I appreciate the help you might bring and treat volunteers very well -- I've hosted Workaway volunteers for five years, and volunteers from other sites for 9 years and have 5-star ratings from everyone who has stayed with me.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This part of rural Ireland is exceptionally beautiful and unspoiled with a different pace of life. It's unusual to find old forest in Ireland. Walking in the woods, or hiking in the surrounding mountains, you will see plants that grow nowhere else, and evidence of human occupation that goes back hundreds of years. You can visit some of the nearby prehistoric sites, of which there are several, perhaps see the largest fishing port on Ireland's west coast, learn about the Ireland's colonial history with England, see Irish contemporary art, learn to grow at least some of your own food, and generally have a good time.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I'd like 1-2 people, either a mature single or two people, who can come for 7 to 14 days only, not longer, to help for 20-25 hours per week. The work is not overly demanding and you'll have plenty of time every day to do your own exploring. Because of the somewhat remote location of my home, and the fact that I cannot supervise helpers all the time, I have found that the most successful arrangement is for helpers to come as a couple or friends so that they have company. Single helpers are very welcome, but only if they are mature enough to often work on their own and enjoy time to themselves. I also prefer helpers who have had some experience with gardening. If your English is not fluent, then you MUST have some gardening experience!

    I need general help cleaning up the garden, weeding, trimming, planting and transplanting, preparing paths, cleaning the shed, perhaps some exterior and interior painting. I sometimes need help in the house. I take volunteers only for one to two weeks at a time.

    The schedule is often weather dependent, and no matter the season, you can expect rain, at least some of the time--it's Ireland after all!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Helpers will enjoy their own very private large room (2 twin beds) with its own WC and shower and a beautiful view of the valley. I'm a good cook and will feed you well and accommodate most dietary needs (sorry, not vegan). There is access to Wifi, and a good library of books, CDs and DVDs. This is a strictly non-smoking house (indoor and outdoor).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The forest bordering my home is a national park, with miles of off-road walking trails just outside the door, including the Beara Way walking trail. Glengarriff village is 2.5 kilometers/1.5 miles away with a small grocery store and post office, several good, friendly pubs, and public bus access to nearby Bantry all year. In Glengarriff harbour, Garnish Island offers a romantic, 100-year-old garden full of exotic plants via a short ferry ride. During the summer months, bikes can be rented in the village. In Bantry, you can visit the Earl of Bantry's great house and enjoy a lively outdoor market on Friday mornings. There's public bus service (No. 236) from Cork City to Glengarriff.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Room for a small van with access to an indoor shower/toilet.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The house is on the edge of the woods
The back garden
The back garden
The greenhouse in spring
A rainbow seen from the kitchen
Glengarriff Nature Reserve
Walking in the Nature Reserve near the house
Glengarriff harbour
Lady Bantry's lookout over Glengarriff harbour
Swimming rock in Glengarriff harbour
Along the River Walk

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 665744831472