Helpful and Energetic people looking to learn about eco building in Rural Dorset, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 56 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.01.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Myself and Emma have just purchased an old stone barn and are currently converting it into a modern eco home. We are currently living in an old farmhouse next to the barns. It is situated in a beautiful village in a rural part area of the edge of Somerset and Dorset with lots of great english countryside around.

    We are installing a ground source heat pump, solar panels, and will be using as many reclaimed materials as possible.

    It is a non stop but ongoing project and we are looking for some extra help! We just moved to the area so it would be nice to have some company at the house and hear about the adventures of some work aways. While we were in New Zealand we Wwoofed in two different locations and loved it!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We both love our food and cooking and have recently sterted making our own wine and beer. Emma is also into brewing her own kombucha so if any of that is something that you find interesting or would like to learn about then this is a great place.

    I am a musician and producer so any musicans or anyone who is interested in music will love it here, there are plenty of instruments and space to jam!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for creative and hands on people to come and help with the build or around the house and garden while we are out working and building.

    The main tasks on the build that we currently need help with are clearing the garden and building veggie beds ready to grow some delicious food, decorating the farmhouse and sorting through some reclaimed materials. We plan to grow lots of our own veggies so that we are more self sufficient and the soil here is like rocket fuel so anyone with green fingers is welcome to apply! Help with doing some bulk cooking, making jams, chutneys, meals for the freezer and brewing beers would also be required and greatly appreciated!

    We are starting to build a shepherds hut to put in the field at the barn so anyone applying with woodwork skills or design ideas would be favoured especially if you would like to stay for the duration of the build. However, we are welcoming work aways for long and short stays depending on what we have going on at the time so please let us know your dates when you apply and what experience you have.

    We can make more dates work especially midweek however are quite busy at the weekends for the next month or so. Workaway-ers would be welcome to go away on a little trip themselves or stay at the farmhouse.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own room and bed in the farmhouse and will share the kitchen, bathroom and living space with myself and Emma. You are also welcome to bring your own live in vehicle, there is plenty of space to park up and plug in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are situated around 5 minutes from Sherborne which is a very quaint old English town with lots of historical sights such as an 8th century abby and a castle. The Dorset coast is around a 45 mins to and hour drive away and is also accessible by train - Durdle Door is a great place for a swim! Glastonbury town is about 45 mins away and well worth a visit as well as the historic stone henge which is 50 mins in the other direction! There is a bridal way just at the bottom of the garden with access to lots of great walks and we have bikes you can borrow should you wish to cycle to the local pub - which does amazing food!!

    Workers with their own transport would be preferable but if you are with us for a short time we can pick you up from the station and there is a local bus.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 661419153272