Come and help build a passive hemp house in beautiful Revelstoke, BC, Canada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 44 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 2 Dez. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    This project is located in Revelstoke, between the Monashee and Selkirk mountain ranges in British Columbia, Canada. This summer 2023 we are building our dream project, a three bedroom hempcrete carriage house, next door to my heritage home in downtown Revelstoke. I have designed the house myself and am building it with my partner, a professional local contractor who has experience in building hemp houses. I am looking for people interested in helping to support us, helping with the hempcrete, as we dive into this project. You will be having this experience in one of the most beautiful places in the world, with fantastic rock climbing, alpine hiking, mountain biking, canoeing, wild swimming, trail running and much more.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    English is our spoken language and therefore your english language skills will be advanced and you would learn about building an eco friendly, passive house from the on-site contractors. I am keen to improve my language skills in French and Spanish and look forward to welcoming French and Spanish speakers in particular. For the past ten years I have been Artistic and Executive Director of the Revelstoke Arts Council so have a deep knowledge of the arts and culture of this area and am keen to share that with my visitors, as well as to learn about their art and culture. I am an experienced mountain biker, alpine hiker and canoer and love to share the beauty and opportunities that British Columbia has to offer.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    I am looking for people willing to work on mixing and pouring hempcrete under the guidance of the professional on-site contractors. You do not need to be skilled, just willing and able to do physical tasks for several hours a day. I would also welcome help with cooking, housekeeping and gardening. I would ask for approximately five hours help per day, depending on what is needed on any given day, which will probably be in the mornings from @ 8am to 1pm, Monday to Friday.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I speak basic Spanish. French is a second language here and my daughters go to French school so it is always good for them to have the opportunity to socialise with native french speakers.

  • Unterkunft


    You will live in our large house in Arrow Heights. You will have a private bedroom and access to a shared family bathroom with tub and shower. A fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and space for your own food in the second fridge. I will provide snacks and breakfast food, for you to prepare for yourself, and one fully cooked meal a day. You can use the fridge, freezer and kitchen equipment to stock and prepare any other food and snacks you might buy for yourself. There is a good internet connection and TV with Netflix etc. NO SMOKING ALLOWED. Each person will be responsible for laundering their bed linen (there is a large washer and drier available), cleaning their rooms, keeping communal spaces clean and tidy and respecting our home.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Revelstoke's downtown has a wonderful selection of cafes, bars and restaurants; a movie theatre; an aquatic centre, with pool, sauna and steam room, two gyms and bike shops. Revelstoke is a friendly, community with people from all over the world who have chosen to live here because of the beautiful mountains, rivers and lakes and amazing outdoor activity opportunities. I have a canoe that would be available for Workaways to use and it is easy to hire mountain bikes locally so you could either learn this as a new sport or hone any skills you already have! The town has a summer season of REVY.Live Outside which offers free live music every night in the town centre, there is a movie theatre and there are various world class music festivals in the region that you could attend on your weekends.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yes, we have space.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 652575133996

Weitere Bilder


Work in our comfortable home, orchard, woods and garden on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada
Come ride horses and help with chores on a hobby farm in Northwest Saskatchewan, Canada