Permaculture community at an old train station house in Garpenberg, Sweden

Country

Schweden

aktualisiert  

Bisher 37 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Welcome to the beautiful Swedish countryside, a welcoming family and a creative permaculture mini community. The household consists of my kids (Liam age 10 and Talila age 12), my boyfriend Egemen and me, Mariel. We also have a dog, a cat, a kitten and some hens. Right next door we have my brother and his wife on their permaculture homestead where a lot of creative, inspiring things are happening all the time. My brother and his wife usually have a volunteer or two staying with them, as well as animals: a dog, a cat, chickens, turkeys, and rabbits. They host tiny-house building workshops and other sustainable-living related workshops.

    The house we live in is an old train station house, built in the early 1900's. As we have just moved in and it has been left untended for a long time, it is in need of a lot of work. It has a lot of potential to be very charming and unique, with a lot of love, hard work and paint. We are also aiming to get some permaculture gardens started on the property. Maybe have a goat or two to help prepare the land.

    My daughter Talila is a gentle soul who likes animals, arts and crafts, reading, gardening and outdoor adventures. My son Liam is a sweet boy who likes being with his friends, biking, Playstation, and can be coaxed into enjoying other activities as well ;-)

    As a family we like to go on outdoor adventures: swimming, hiking, canoeing, camping, skiing, skating, etc. On rainy days we like to sauna, play cards and board games, or just enjoy a good movie or TV show together. We enjoy including volunteers in our adventures and activities.

    I work part time as a mental health counsellor where I combine solution-oriented talks with breath- and body work and meditation. I am also a textile artist. I enjoy dancing, hiking, running, meditating, and other creative activities.

    Egemen is from Turkey and has been in Sweden for 4 years now. He is interested in permaculture, building, gardening, riding, animals, cooking and baking.

    I have a lot of previous experience as a volunteer host together with my ex-husband, with many positive reviews.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My boyfriend Egemen is from Turkey and passionate about Turkish cuisine. He is happy to share his skills and share stories from his homeland. We speak English at home, as I have partially grown up in the US and the kids' dad is from the US. My kids are used to having volunteers in the house as we hosted together for many years, with very positive reviews.

    The closeness to my brother's perma-culture farm is also a great social and experiential opportunity! In the summer, there will be lots of swimming in nearby lakes and nature experiences in general. You will also learn a lot about fixing up old wooden houses in an eco-friendly and economic manner.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our newly purchased station house needs a lot of love. Most of the volunteer hours will involve home improvement tasks as well as outdoor jobs. It is good if you already have some basic experience of physical labor. It will be both inside and outside work, and you will need to be okay with climbing ladders. Some household help and hanging out with the kids may also be needed, as well as a dog walk or two.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend
    Türkisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am interested in learning Spanish and Turkish. My daughter is interested in German.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will either be in a tiny house on the property or in the house with us. The kids are here every other week. You will have your own bedroom, or share it with another volunteer if there are two of you travelling together.

    We all help out with cooking, washing up and keeping the house tidy. The cooking and washing up is not included in the help hours. Vegetarians can easily be accommodated. Vegans may need to cook a bit of their own food on the side.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    On your time off you are welcome to explore the area on your own, or perhaps with another volunteer from my brother's farm. You are welcome to borrow the car when it is available, or a bike. There is plenty to explore in the area, like 4 nature preservation areas just minutes away, different nature trails, historical sites, small towns and cities, etc. Previous volunteers have enjoyed biking to lakes in the area and watching the sunrise or sunset, hiking. Or of course hang out with us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have mobile broadband with unlimited surf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Our house is in a very nice setting with nature all around. We can easily find a nice spot for a van or camper.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Always check with me before bringing a pet and we will see if it seems like it will work out with the pets that are already here.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 648455989979