Enjoy our natural playground whilst helping at our family home in Wellington, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 62 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.07.2021

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello / Kia Ora,

    My name is Molly, I’m writing this on behalf of my lovely parents in Aoeteroa, New Zealand.

    After travelling Europe and doing workaways here, I started thinking how magical my home is and what a great place for a workawayer it would be - and with my parents so often in need of extra hands around the house there’s plenty for you to do.

    My parents, Jen & Alastair, have a big beautiful home in Island Bay, New Zealand, across the road from a large marine reserve and with an island, called Taputeranga, a small swim away from the beach. I grew up here, and can vouch that it is truly beautiful.

    If you’re into surfing, the two bays next to us (Houghton and Lyall Bay) have great surf, and sometimes when the swell is right, you can surf off the back of the island right in front of our house.

    We are near the most southern point of the north island, and just around the corner from us are the ‘Red Rocks’, a beautiful uninhabited coast line with lots of seals and great diving if you’re into that. There are beautiful walks around here and we have two friendly black Labradors, Missy and Stella, who always love a walk.

    Wellington is the capital city of New Zealand, and is a lively, culturally diverse city with an amazing arts and music scene - and an even better cafe culture (Best coffee in the world 😉)

    It’s about a 15min drive into the city from our house - and with Jen & Alastair heading in regularly you can often catch a ride. We also have bikes you can use, which would take you into the city in 30mins or so, or an easy 30min bus ride.

    My parents are both self employed - Alastair runs a scaffolding company and works Mon-Friday, Jen has her own interior design company and often works from home. They generally have fluid schedules and so every day will be different and flexible.

    My parents are very social and fantastic hosts - dad makes a great coffee on our espresso machine and we often have neighbours/friends around who you’ll enjoy meeting.

    They’re relaxed and will make you feel right at home, but it is expected that you are very clean, conscientious, and respectful of our home and it’s inhabitants.

    Work could include helping clear the backyard, weeding and replanting the vegetable garden, painting the downstairs apartment, building a pizza oven and any other general maintenance - for approx 4 hours a day/5 days a week - but it is a flexible schedule.

    Feel free to ask any questions!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our Island Bay home is unlike any where else I know - it is across the road from the beach, a marine reserve that is steaming with life, and a small island you can swim to and explore. It is on the rugged coast of the most southern point of the North Island, with the South Island visible across the strait, and yet is only 15 minutes drive to Wellington’s vibrant city centre - with lots of great cafes, bars and live music.

    The history of Island Bay is interesting too- there is a large Italian fishing community who moved here from Stromboli in the 1930’s after the volcano eruptions. The fishing boats anchored in the bay is a very classic scene and the subject of a famous Rita Angus painting.

    Surfing, swimming, diving, biking and walks are all there for you - and we have lots of equipment to help get you out there to enjoy our natural playground. Wellington is surrounded by beautiful beaches and in summertime it is full of life and fun.

    Jen & Alastair have lived in Island Bay for 22years and have a wonderful local community.

    There’s an opportunity to improve your English but also Jen speaks fluent Dutch.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are in the midst of building another apartment downstairs, and need extra hands around the house and in the garden. With the building downstairs, mums large vegetable garden has gone to ruin, and so she will need hands to help weed and replant it. This is a great opportunity for someone to learn lots about gardening. Dad is also building a pizza oven- so experience with this would be helpful but not necessary.

    Preferably we could have someone whose had experience with building or landscaping- but if not a can-do attitude and a willingness to work hard and get your hands dirty will be fine.

    Work will be approx 5 hours a day/5 days a week - but it is a flexible schedule.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our home is very beautiful and comfortable - you’ll have your own room and double bed and should feel right at home! You’ll have your own toilet but the shower and bath are shared so we ask you don’t spend too long in the shower. You’ll be supplied sheets/towels and there’s a washing machine and dryer for you to use whenever (although we try to not use the dryer and hang things on the line instead to save Mother Earth)

    Jen is an amazing cook, and if Jen isn’t able to cook for you, you’ll always have a (VERY) full fridge to help yourself to breakfast and lunch and dinner. If you enjoy cooking, I’m sure they’d love you to occasionally cook for them, or you can help mum in the kitchen and learn from her craft (I learnt my skill and love of cooking from helping mum in the kitchen) We won’t be able to cater to Vegans sorry - but vegetarians yes.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a lot to see and do in Wellington. Ive already talked a bit about what nature here has to offer - but culturally there are fantastic museums, art galleries, music venues and even more bars/cafes that my parents will be happy to recommend for you.

    Island Bay itself has a very lovely little town also with a supermarket, cafes, a movie theatre etc... our local cafe around the corner, right across the road from the beach, makes a great coffee too.

    It’s about a 15min drive into the city from our house - and with Jen & Alastair heading in regularly you can often catch a ride. We also have bikes you can use, which would take you into the city in 30mins or so, or an easy 30min bus ride.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 639422373221