Help us create more beauty in our 4 acres of gardens and woodland in an idylic south facing valley in West Wales, United Kingdom

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 135 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there, we are a lively and sociable family of 6, myself Helen living here full time with our youngest son Brychan, a practical and philosophical boy age 14, I work as a psychotherapist, and also as a musician. My partner Mark is here some of the time, enjoying doing all kinds of outdoor projects, otherwise he is away working away as a designer and cameraman. Our eldest two sons Silas and Theo 21 and 23, both musicians, and daughter Maeve, 18, studying fine art at Uni, live in and around Bristol and visit occasionally. We live in an old stone house in a very pretty hidden south facing valley in West Wales, where we have 4 acres of gardens and woodland, and right next to us is even more woodland that we are free to walk in. A stream runs just alongside our garden and down through the woods, and we all benefit from the freedom and space and the wildness of the woods nearby. We are a creative and food loving family and when we are all together we love to party, and often have musical friends to visit during holidays and special celebrations. We also love animals, and have dogs cats hens and a tortoise called George.
    We have lived here for over 20 years, and came from the city, it has been an amazing voyage of discovery finding out about organic gardening and growing our own vegetables and fruit, as well as many flowers and shrubs and trees. Our place is less than 15 minutes drive from the sea, with beautiful clean quiet beaches, and we go there as often as we can.
    We have just acquired two adjoining acres of woods and have started developing a human ecology project here working once a month with groups of young children doing woodland crafts, outdoor games, cooking, simple mechanics and so on. We are also due to be working with groups of older ( late teens to early twenties) in the woods, beginning June 2019. Mark has qualified to as a Forest Schools leader, and we are keen to offer our joint skills and experience to the wider community.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love meeting people from different countries and learning about other peoples cultures. Our youngest son is 13 and is very social and I would like for him to have this experience, and although he doesn't need looking after he does help with lots around the garden, and so we would all sometimes work and socialise together. We are used to eating together and having good times together over meals. I would be delighted to share our traditional music ( I play violin and piano), and if you are also a musician that would be fantastic, and we have many local musical connections who always love to meet others and have a jam. We can also show you country crafts such as basketry and felt making, lots of home preserving recipes, and ways or using our own fruit and vegetables, There are also so many lovely beaches, even if the sea is cold you can get used to it! We really do live in a beautiful, fairly wild place, where it is easy to find calm and quiet, as well as getting together and sharing, to work hard, and also to relax. We like to do a bit of both, and we are looking for others who feel the same way.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We love making the space more and more interesting and beautiful, and it is an ongoing fascinating challenge. It does take regular work to care for the garden, and so we would like one or two young fit and strong people to come and help us mostly with the many outdoor gardening jobs, help with animals, and some of the outdoor building and maintenance work. Things like mowing and strimming grass, digging, weeding, planting and sowing seeds, renewing and mending fences, pruning, collecting and splitting firewood, creating woodland paths, coppicing and tree planting, feeding walking and cleaning out animals. If you have some experience in basic carpentry that would also be helpful, as we do regularly maintain and improve the outdoor summer structures and animal housing. We will also sometimes ask you to help with indoor housework and cleaning. We are looking for people who are energetic well motivated and focussed, enjoy completing things and happy to follow work plans and work as a team.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Welsh: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a single room, or a double room available, (depending if you are single or a couple) which is next to a bathroom which will be mostly for your use. There is an adjoining music room which also doubles up as a spare room/sitting/study for guests. In the summer months there is also a cabin and a small round house outside which will be available instead. That has basic outdoor compost toilet, and you would use the shower and kitchen in the house. We cook and prepare vegetarian and non vegetarian food, and we would share the food we have with you, expecting you to prepare your own breakfasts and lunches, and sometimes dinners, although most often we would eat together in the evening, and take it in turns to cook for each other.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live half an hour walk from a regular bus route, and we also have bicycles for you to use, to go into our local towns. We live half way between two small towns, about 4 miles either way. Each town has a relaxed friendly atmosphere, with a nice combination of shops, one has a cinema and two theatres, with regular shows and bands playing Both towns have leisure centres with gyms and swimming pools. I work partly from home during the day, and sometimes early evening, and like to have some quiet times in the house, when at other times we are busy and lively with lots going on. During the winter we are involved in the local village drama production, and each week I play the piano for a male voice choir, and the children do some sports and drama clubs. In the summer during the week we try to get to the beach after school finishes on hot days, and there are always things to do in the garden! We sometimes go to see bands and shows on the weekend, visit friends, go to the beach, go swimming, our children see friends or have them round for sleepovers, all the usual family stuff.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.8)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 637139846698