Join us for simple living. Learn butchery, cheesemaking, hide tanning and help looking after all the animals on the far south coast of NSW, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 26 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.01.2019

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a young couple who keep dairy goats on a small farm in the Bega Valley. We make cheese from the milk, do our own butchery and slaughter, make haggis from the offal and tan the hides. Our farm is 24 acres, about half pasture and half woodland. There are also a couple hundred fruiting trees here: apple, pear, quince, plum, apricot, olive, carob, mulberry, fig, citrus and others. We keep a small garden and some chickens. We are most inspired by Masanobu Fukuoka’s natural farming.

    We can teach goat husbandry, cheesemaking, butchery, meat preservation, tanning, soap making, spinning, weaving, knitting, scything, knife sharpening, piano, and plant and animal breeding.

    Living here at the moment are two (sometimes three) humans, nine milking does (Anglo Nubians and Toggenburgs), two bucks, a dozen kids, ten chickens, two cats and a dog. We are both quite social and we have a lovely local community.

    Every now and then we kill and butcher our own animals. We like to use every part of the animal and celebrate their life. We are adventurous offal-eaters, and we tan the hides and make soap from the fat.

    Living is simple here. There is no conventional house, but there is an undercover outdoor kitchen. There are three small cabins and a large tent for accommodation. We have no running hot water, we cook mostly with fire, bathing is with a bucket and flannel, we use a compost loo, and there is no heating. We favour simple technology in our life (we sold our tractor and have no intention of buying a chainsaw).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are very interested in traditional crafts and can share what we have learnt about things like tanning hides, making soap, scything, spinning wool etc.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help looking after all the animals - milking and feeding the goats and moving their electric fencing every 1-3 days. There are plenty of jobs to do in the orchard and garden - pruning, scything, sowing seeds, making new beds etc. There is cleaning up to do around the property from previous owners, and repair work to infrastructure and fencing. We also would love a hand in the kitchen with cooking and washing up; one of us has ongoing wrist injuries that make such things difficult.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation for one in a small, cosy cabin. Bathroom facilities are shared - there is an outdoor compost loo and a separate cabin for washing in. Please note the living situation is simple. There is no shower and no running hot water. The cabin does have electricity. There is also a large tent for accommodation.

    Kitchen is semi-outdoors, just a roof between two cabins. Cooking and meals are shared and we cook on fire.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The local area is absolutely beautiful and there is plenty to see and do. Beaches are 30 mins away. Nearest town is Cobargo. There is some public transport although not very frequent.

    The only internet access is via a phone with a hotspot, so if you can't use your own phone we can only offer you very limited internet use.

    It is difficult for us to accommodate strict vegetarians. We do not eat a lot of meat, but we use our own lard for cooking and often add small amounts of preserved meat to meals. All meat is either from our own property and killed by us or from friends' with similar ethics.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 632182557127