Help our friendly family with various projects in Henley Beach, South Australia

Country

Australien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 149 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    567

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a friendly family living on Kaurna country in a wonderful old seaside home in urban Henley Beach, known as "The Seaview Zoo" about 7 km from the centre of Tarndanya- Adelaide.
    We think it is a beautiful place in the city of Adelaide with good public transport and cycling path access.
    We have bikes available for loan.
    We are continuously creating this urban permaculture art project (we live in it) whilst running a family business (we are both Physiotherapists) and helping our 3 kids Olivia 20, Noah 18, and Xavier 11 to live and learn without school.
    So there is always something going on here!
    We are all trying to learn Greek so would LOVE anyone that can help us with that.

    Olivia and Noah are moving into adulthood, working and travelling themselves.

    Xavier loves any attention he can get! He loves to talk, and has a lot of energy and enthusiasm, loves meeting new people, and play of any kind including in particular nerf guns, computer games, hip hop dancing and surfing.

    Nick loves bushwalking and cycle touring when he is not working, and would love help completing the many small construction projects he would love to be doing himself but has little time for at the moment.
    (building retaining walls, chopping wood, painting, etc) he has going on.

    Nicole loves gardening and travelling and creating an interesting life and loves help with cooking, gardening, seasonal food preservation, feeding the chooks, playing games with the kids, and often company on road trips and foraging expeditions! She also loves getting time to herself which doesn't happen very often - so gratitude if you can help with this.

    We all love to welcome guests as part of the family and are happy to show you interesting places or invite you with us to family events and such.
    We love to match the work with your passions and skills so let us know what they are.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Nicole knows a lot about local culture, ecology, and is interested and learning more and more about indigenous Kaurna culture and its local bush foods.
    She loves to cook tasty healthy local food and share recipes and will make sure to make a great "Australian" pavlova sometime during your stay.
    You might earn a lot about creative education movement sometimes known as *️unschooling*️.
    And obviously English.
    Also you could learn what we know about: permaculture design, earthbag construction, organic low tox living, our approach to healing injuries and movement therapies (McKenzie physiotherapy, nutrition, pilates rehab etc), business management, passive solar living.
    We are also fascinated to learn what you are passionate about and share many travelling tales.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are completing minor construction projects around the house it would be great to have help with depending on your skills available.
    Aside from that general household activities like cooking food preserving (tomatoes and grapes at present!) and gardening, wood collecting, chopping and storing, doing stuff with our 10 yo is always possible if you get along....

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Greek: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Japanese: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A spare bedroom in our house with 2 single beds which can be joined to make a king bed.
    Plus up to 2 more spare mattresses on the floor. Close access to a conventional shared bathroom and separate toilet room.
    Can sleep 1-4 people sharing this room.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have been hosting home stay guests for at least 10 years. Prior to workaway mainly through word of mouth recommendations, and some couch surfers.
    We love the inspiration and connection that hosting travellers and other homestayers have brought to our lives.

    Henley Beach has a great village like atmosphere, with lots to enjoy and everything you need within walking distance.

    Henley Square is a great place to soak up Australian culture on a sunny Sunday morning, with restaurants and cafes. There are 2 great cycling access routes - the 70km Coast Park Adelaide walking/ cycle path, and the linear park - a 30 km cycle/walking trail connection the city centre (40 min ride) to the hills and sea via a trail along Karra Wirra Parri (River Torrens)
    We are happy to share our bikes, stand up paddle board and surf ski etc with visitors so you too can enjoy our great seaside lifestyle. If you are over 25 with an appropriate international license and highly responsible we can sometimes loan you a car.

    Aside from this the city centre is easily accessed by the H30 bus which stops about 50m away.

    Nick and Noah are working full time at present, Nicole works only part time so she is often going to camps and events for home education gatherings, or taking Xavier and friends surfing etc which you are welcome to join.
    We live with the goal of mutual respect for kids and adults alike and something that is very important to us is that we equally respect all household members needs for feeling safe without intrusion on other peoples private space.

    We expect workawayers to treat our young people with the kind of respect you would like to be treated with.
    We value clear communication so if something is bothering you please talk to us!

    We eat mostly organic, local food, sourced from farmers we know and trust.
    Morning coffee is an important ritual and your first lesson might be how to use the Italian espresso coffee machine.

    We include workawayers in our regular evening meal plans but a lot of the time you may need to prepare your own breakfast daytime meals/snacks from what we have available.

    We eat an omnivorous diet, and can generally accomodate vegetarian diet and other variations - gluten / lactose free etc, but vegans will have to cook for yourselves as we mostly use butter/ghee and bone broth based soups..

    We enjoy good food and wine but excessive alcohol or any drug use won't be tolerated here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Flexible! around 20 hours/week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 626258886192