Help our family in the beautiful Fraser Valley BC, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 161 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.05.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are looking for a fun, kind yet firm volunteer for April, May & June 2021.
    QUALIFICATIONS:
    1. We can host 1 Workawayer (preferably female)
    2. Minimum stay of 1 month but strongly prefer 2 months
    Looking for:

    April 15- June 30, 2021. We can be a bit flexible on these dates.
    3. You have an intermediate or higher English level
    4. You have experience with children and can build a relationship with them
    5. You know how to clean a house and cook basic meals (If your parents did everything for you, you are probably not suitable for us!)

    Hello/bonjour!
    We live in the Fraser Valley, surrounded by mountains, lakes and rivers, 1 hr east of Vancouver. We have 3 beautiful, funny, active kids, 2 girls and a boy ages 11, 9 & 7. My husband is a firefighter and I am a French teacher. We have hosted au pairs for 5 years and Workawayers for three years so we are used to and enjoy welcoming people from different cultures! My husband grew up in Ireland and we have both lived and travelled extensively abroad. We are looking for one volunteer who would like to stay with us for preferably the months of April, May & June.
    Switching workawayers too often is hard on the children as we all get attached and welcome you into our family! The ideal Workawayer is someone who will build a connection with our family by playing with the kids, joining us for dinner and the occasional outing. We need a responsible volunteer who can be a team player and jump in and help out. You would have lots of free time to explore the beautiful surroundings.

    Our ice skating/hockey rink is a five minute walk away, and the fitness Centre/wave pool is right next to it. A 15 min walk takes you to the cinema, restaurants, shops, yoga studio. We love to head to one of the local rivers or lakes on weekends to play, swim, explore, go for walks or bike rides weather permitting. We enjoy working out at the YMCA-even the kids do classes there! We love to ski in the winter and have room in our van if you'd like to come (these are things we regularly did pre-Covid-19.)
    The house can be noisy when the kids are home so you must love kids though you have privacy on the ground floor. We are low-key and fairly chill once they go to bed. We want to share dinners with you and have you join us for "Friday Night, Movie Night" or a walk at the river or a hike. We do NOT want to feel like we are living with a stranger! We will respect your need for privacy and expect that you will grant us some privacy too as we are quite tired after work, dinner clean-up and getting kids to bed.
    We like to keep a tidy house (as much as we can with 3 kids!) and expect our guest to cleanup after herself and to pitch in with daily chores that are simply a part of being in a family!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a pretty average fun-loving Canadian family. We are down-to-earth and love family time and relaxing after working hard at our jobs. You would get a good sense of what life is like in Canada if you joined our family and we really try to make you feel comfortable and part of the family! I speak English and am also a French teacher. As a language teacher, I can help you with grammar and prononciation and you will learn a lot of English from the kids as well!

    We love to be outdoors.
    My husband and I enjoy playing card and board games and watching movies, doing escape rooms and enjoying good food with friends. I love to bake healthier treats for my family and will teach you how to bake gluten & dairy free bread, cakes, muffins etc. Most of our sharing time happens in the kitchen prepping food together and at the dinner table or when we have time off and go explore in nature.
    There are many other WorkAwayers and au pairs in our city of 90,000 people and 3 different English conversation circles you can join (per-covid).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help required includes watching kids, cooking, cleaning and organizing. We have sold our townhouse and will be moving at the end of June. We are currently searching for a house to buy so help could include helping to pack some boxes and some extra cleaning if you are here in June.
    We need help getting the kids ready for school in the morning for about an hour on most school days. We then need help after school with homework (reading, spelling, math) when we get home with the kids and while we prepare dinner (15:00-17:00). My husband works a 4 days on, 4 days off schedule so flexibility is absolutely essential! Your schedule will change depending on my husband’s shifts though we can tell you it in advance. We need flexibility due to Phil's shifts. Kristy is doing a new teaching job which is requiring lots of prep work. We always try to give you two days off in a row, then sometimes you help a few days and get another extra day off. The schedule can be erratic due to Phil's shift work but the highlight is that it can afford you with extra time off to explore and travel! We can be flexible to a certain degree which would help for someone wanting to go off and explore for a few days at a time although this is not happening much with covid.
    You would oversee the morning routine for children (ensure kids get up, make beds, get dressed, brush hair/teeth; you would cook a healthy breakfast, clean up the breakfast dishes, and prepare school lunches the night before and assemble them in lunch kits).
    General tidy up around the house after meals (wash and put away dishes from you and the kids).

    Afternoon routine: give the kids a healthy snack after they get home from school. Do homework and play with them (mom or dad is often around and we work as a team). Wash up any dishes used by you and the kids especially school lunch dishes. Pitch in with dinner prep if needed.
    Wash the kids laundry and ensure they fold it and put it away.
    Help with some basic household tasks like unloading the dishwasher, cleaning kids' bathroom, dusting and vacuuming. You will be responsible for preparing breakfast and school lunches for the kids and sometimes to prep ingredients for dinner (chop vegetables, make a salad etc) or make a simple dinner (not often needed) when our son has soccer and we are with him and not home to cook dinner. With covid restrictions, we can’t bring the children to view houses so occasional babysitting while we go view a house may be necessary.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private bedroom on the ground floor with a twin sized day bed (it’s like a bed but add pillows and it becomes a couch!), chest of drawers. Outside your room is a water closet (Sink and toilet where you can keep your toiletries) and also a small den/computer room/workout space with small TV and computer chair. Shared shower/bathroom with kids on top floor.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The bus stop is less than 5 minutes away. You can also take the bus to Vancouver and beyond but it takes time (2+ hours to Vancouver). Many places are within walking distance. We are also liking to buy a new bike for our WA to use.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included. Snacks (cookies, crackers, chips, candy, pop etc) and alcohol are not included.

    We prefer to host WorkAwayers who eat meat; we have food intolerances and our diet is already limited to certain foods. We are open to hosting vegetarians and have done so in the past but only for someone who is willing to prep their own food if we are having a one-pot-meal or casserole that contains meat. Any specialty food items (protein powders, expensive nuts, exotic foods etc) you will need to purchase for yourself. We eat a Whole Foods diet (whole grains, fruit, vegetables and meat). Mom and kids have food intolerances to gluten and dairy and some other foods. Dad eats everything so you'll have access to normal cheese, milk, bread etc.

    You must be (as we are) honest, dependable, reasonably clean and mentally stable, no (unmedicated) bipolar, anger management issues or chronic depression please. We need to trust that our children are safe with you! ABSOLUTELY NO DRUGS, HEAVY DRINKERS OR SMOKERS (inside or outside)!!!  We also have an adorable short-haired tabby cat named Bella! She will turn 1 years old in August.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We can host someone who works online in their spare time. We have Wi-fi and a desk in the den just outside the Workawayers bedroom. Workaway should have their own technology (laptop) to work from.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-5 hours/day, 4-5 days per week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 623741979172