Help me around my sustainable small holding in Trout Lake valley, Washington State

Country

USA

Bisher 474 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    76.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a 71 year old man. I have lived here in the Trout Lake valley for over 30 years. I have raised four children here (Mostly here) I spent five years in Alaska working on fishing boats and doing boat-building and repair. In Trout Lake, I worked for the Forest Service for seven years. My favorite job was in the Wildlife Department searching for spotted owls. I consider myself an environmentalist.
    I live on 9 acres of timbered land, have 1 horse,.(part time) ( my youngest daughter's mother lives near by and is keeping my horse most of the time because she has four horses of her own and horses like to be in a heard)) 8 chickens, 2 dogs 3 cats 2 Guinea Hogs and 2 sheep, (I recently purchased a guard dog as a mountain lion killed two of my sheep) as well as 3 small gardens.( am presently in the process of trading my hogs for more sheep) I have always wanted to live in the country and live simply. I spent many years as a feltmaker and was accepted into the primitive skills community as a teacher and participant, mostly through the Rabbitstick Rendezvous and the Glass Buttes Knapp-In. I teach primitive skills (fire by friction, flint knapping, felting, etc.) at primitive skills gatherings, I have also taught at Ekone Ranch and Cascade Mountain school.
    I also have a website with extensive information about me and my homestead. Contact me if you are interested and I will send you a link.

    I am also a lifetime student of edible and medicinal plants and their uses. I love music and dance and am presently teaching myself to play the piano and Ukulele.

    I do not live a totally primitive lifestyle: I have electricity, a washing machine, a dryer, internet connection and hot water! We are five miles from the town of Trout Lake and 25 miles from a sizable town.(White Salmon) Trout Lake is considered the gateway to the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. There are mushrooms and berries to pick in season, and the area is known for its many caves. There are white water rivers and mountains to climb. Good hiking abounds in this area. One of my personal projects is creating a cross County trail!

    Portland, Oregon, is our big city about 80 miles away. We are 25 miles from the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, which is a world-renowned wind surfing area. One of my nearest neighbors is the Trout Lake Abby -- a combination spiritual retreat center and bed and breakfast -- owned and operated by a Buddhist Monk and a Druid Priest.

    I am retired and live on a modest social security income. I like to maintain a very small environmental footprint, heating with wood, using a composting toilet and a bioswale for greywater. I like to hike and travel across my county with my friends and sometimes by horse power! I hope to include more people on my hikes!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Most of my workaway guests come here to experience the area, so I try to make sure we get out and hike or go caving or go to local events or what ever they express an interest in! If they are interested in any crafts that I do I try to include time for crafts!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    need help gardening, getting in fire wood, feeding the animals, house cleaning. I may be doing some trail building, but this is not heavy earth-moving - just brush clipping and light chainsawing. I would love to build a small house for guests and I am always doing some kind of craft, from feltmaking to hide tanning to saddle making! I would love some help with creating a real Hostel and an Art Community. And there is ongoing gardening and house repair!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I do have a fairly large house, but only two full-size separate bedrooms that are used for air b&b guests during the summer and one for myself in the winter. What I have for guests are two loft areas and, during the summer months, lots of campsites for tents. The house is "grand central" with a large kitchen and living room. Sometimes I have permission to use a 20 foot yurt for couples .

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I do have a spare car(1979 Audi) to share if you are a good driver (that knows have to drive a Stick Shift) with a current drivers licence it is currently licenced however the insurance may have to be updated!! I mentioned earlier the possible things to do like rafting, mountain climbing, caving, hiking. Also, there is an AMTRAC train leaving Bingen (25 miles South of here) daily to and from Portland, OR.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

my house from the West.
I like to make things, here I am doing some precision cuts for a new idea for my horse drawn cart.












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 615784487852