Come and enjoy the Valhalla mountains and learn about permaculture in the Slocan Valley in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 20 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.07.2020

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a mature couple living in the Slocan Valley, BC on a beautiful 10 acre property. The property is in the development stage with all infrastructure including wifi, in place. We are creating an organic and sustainable farm. Carole is a teacher working locally and Leo has a background in environmental and urban design. Both Leo and Carole have lived and worked overseas for 15 years, experiencing different cultures. Carole grew up in the local Kootenay area and Leo is originally from the lower mainland of BC. Our primary language is English, with Carole speaking some French and Bahasa and Leo speaking Finnish.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are foodies, enjoy nature and local rural culture. There are many music events and festivals in the area, summer markets, and local historical sites with a pioneer history. The Kootenays has a slow, relaxing pace with many outdoor recreational activities available. The area has a youthful eco vibe with many young people attracted to the ethnic restaurants, dynamic nightlife and summer festivals in the area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a variety of opportunities: Vegetable gardening, berry and fruit tree planting, drip irrigation installation ,...Come enjoy the beautiful Valhalla mountains and learn about permaculture.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Finnish: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Indonesian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Roomy, heavy duty, steel framed, six person tent with four cots and folding furniture. Outdoor bathroom with flush toilet, sink and hot shower. Sleeping bag and work boots required. Food options such as fruit, cereal, yogurt and coffee/tea available for breakfast. Lunch will be options such as sandwiches, eggs, locally sourced. Dinners will be shared preparation and scheduled. Laundry is by local laundry mat in Nelson or Castlegar. There are no laundry facilities on site yet!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our property is located in a beautiful, natural setting, with a stunning view. You will enjoy occasional visits from whitetail deer and elk that traverse through the property. From a garden for our own consumption, to a greenhouse to extend our local season, we are working on resilience and sustainabilty. We have an extensive library (4000 volumes) on agriculture, gardening, building, sustainability and health. Come and share our journey!!

    Hiking enthusiasts can experience majestic, Gwillim Lakes/Drinnon Pass. The journey begins at Highway 6 in front of our door.

    We are located a 5 minute walk from the Slocan River. Afternoons and weekends can be spent with the locals, floating down the river and enjoying the summer weather in kayaks, canoes and inflatables. It is fun, crazy, noisy and colourful, with lots of people to meet. You can stop on the sandbars for a picnic or suntan. We have inflatables, a plastic kayak and a river canoe for use. We can drop off and pick up. This is a premier BC tourist attraction.

    Also along the river is the Slocan Valley rail trail: "50 Kilometres of adventure through one of the most beautiful river valleys in British Columbia".

    Biking to the Co-op store is a 15 minute bike ride along the flat rail trail.
    The public bus stop is a 5 minute walk with a 30 minute transport to Nelson or Castlegar.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 589822172568