Help with garden and eco projects under volcano Etna in Sicily, Italy

  • Italien
  • Bisher 1088 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 01.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ABOUT THE PLACE AND OURSELF

    A warm welcome from Angelo&Cristina to all those people who wants to share with us our transition towards sustainability and ecological life
    In 2010 we decided to quit our jobs and buy a small piece of land facing Mt. Etna and the Mediterranean sea.
    The garden was owned by Don Alfio, who immediately was giving us all his personal know-how on how to run a vegetable garden and maintain an olives orchard.
    We have 120 olive trees, 100 various fruit trees, a small vineyard and a vegetable garden. Here we produce a small amount of organic Olive Oil EVO and Natural Red Wine

    Here you will be involved in an educational no profit project, and you will be encouraged to choose an ecological way of life for the future of our planet.


    WHAT WE DO WITH THE VOLUNTEERS
    We always work aside our volunteers, sharing our knowledge about how to live in a more sustainable way. The timetable can not be perfectly fixed in advance as it depends from the kind of work we are going to do, the weather, the season and our personal willing to stay outdoor. Normally we work 6 hours per day for 5 days, but hours and timetable depend from the season, the amount of task to finish, how much energy we have, ect. If you need a regular timetable or a perfect settled life, this is not the right place.
    There is an every-day routine in which you could be involved: feeding and walking cat and dog, cleaning of the kitchen, trash and compost management...and according with the different seasons of the year we have different task for you.

    In January/February/March, we work mainly on pruning the olive trees and the vineyard, we take care of the winter veggies and mushrooms, and eventually we work on some maintenance.

    In April/May we work on maintenance of the house, and prepare the summer vegetable garden.

    From June to September you will be asked to take care of cat and dogs, watering and managing the veggies, and time by time to look after the house as housesitter, meanwhile we are out working.

    In October/November we work on the olive harvesting. This is the most intense moment at the farm. Once that the olives are ready we have to harvest it asap. In this period we strictly work with our special timetable, it is 2,5 days working and 1 day rest, so that none of us will be too tired. Beside the harvesting you will learn everything about the Extra Vergine Olive Oil, with a lot of tasting and dishes based on this incredible procuct!...

    We welcome any kind of volunteers, but especially in spring/summer, we prefer to host long terms helpers, at least 2/3 months, in order to have the possibility to enjoy the best period of the year at the farm and get involved in the various daily life tasks.

    We both speak Italian, English and Cristina also French and Danish.

    About ACCOMODATION:
    You will be hosted in a comfortable caravan with a private bathroom and a separate sharing kitchenette.

    About FOOD:
    We offer to our volunteers lunch and dinner during the working days. During the day off or in "Housesitting" mode you should provide your own food. These terms are flexible, so we are always happy to accept new proposal about exchange of time and food according to different needs.

    We love to cook Mediterranean food (of course mainly with veg garden products), we are not vegan/vegetarian but we eat very few meat or animal product and only when we are sure that the animals had been growing in nature. We are strictly seasonarian, that means we eat only what grow in the season, no products from green houses or coming from far away. This make our diet very unique and testy.
    We can support vegetarian diet or special diet due to a disease, but any other special "request" or food restriction is not welcome, as food is a very much important issue in our life and exchange.

    We kindly recommend you to show up when you take an engagement with us. When someone reserve a period and then disappears, it creates a damage to other volunteers who will receive a negative answer for the same period. Thanks!

    We believe that to live in a better world, we don't need too many rules and laws, but just respect for others and nature.
    Waiting to share good time together,

    See you soon
    Angelo e Cristina

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will stay in a farm where 80% of the food is provided from the garden, you will learn, how to grow your own season vegetables and you will experience a self sufficient style of life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help needed in maintenance of the garden, no special skills are required but just strong arms! MINIMUM STAY 2 WEEKS

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be hosted in a old caravan restored with private toilet, shower and a panoramic deck. There is separate sharing kitchen that you can use, few meters away from the caravan.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    From the farm you can visit the surround by bus, train, car...nearby you have the beautiful beach of Marina di Cottone, Month Etna, The Alcantara gorge, Taormina, ect...
    When possible you will join our sailing tours.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a decent wi fi connection and you are welcome to "digital working" during your spare time.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Campervan are welcome, maximum 6 mt.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week maximum...depending from your attitude! and which kind of work is going at the moment.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 318815724997

Feedback (10)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.8)














Help us around our home and explore Santa croce del lago, Italy
Help with childminding in Sestola, Italy