Welcoming you to our projects in an isolated farm at the end of Lago Rupanco, Chile

Country

Chile

aktualisiert  

Bisher 31 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Everything we use must be delivered over a long, gravel road, and then across the lake, and then up the hill on a oxcart. That makes for apt conditions to learn how best to build and live with the materials and foods of the site.
    How can we best utilize the fallen native woods, bamboo (quilla) and soils to provide building materials, as much as possible.
    For October and November we will be focused on buildings, finishings, road improvements and new eco-constructions in early design. We will be also be building a greenhouse, improving fencing and water systems.
    We will be welcoming volunteers to arrive Starting in the middle of October.

    There are around 40 hectares. We have worked on a cabin, built bridges, water systems (river capture/ gravity), fencing/ gates, and improvement of the community road and other dirt paths for walkers and horses. There is always mantenence work to be done and a lot of it physically demanding, Because of the lack of a road, it is incredibly peaceful and natural. There are great views of mountains and the lake, and the Puntiagudo volcano.

    Located on the northwest side of Lago Rupanco. It is very remote sector with no road. Access is by boat. It is complicated until you learn the details. Then it is not so hard, especially once you learn the schedule of the public ferry. Otherwise there are paid speedboats.
    Let´s spare the full access directions until we connect.
    REF Location: 40°52'03.4"S 72°15'20.2"W

    The planting season here is generally May and June. It rarely freezes. There is abundandant water and mulchables.

    The cabin is basic and comfrortable. There is hot water, electricity, internet.
    It could use the attention of someone who likes to make small furniture, cubbies, curtains, counterstops.

    About 3 km away there are natural hot springs. If you want to come and have a good time in the countryside, overlooking the lake, enjoy the lake and its surroundings, do not hesitate to contact us. Please tell us about yourself. Please don´t ask me about your visa or entry testing or covid commentary. I´m sorry but I really don´t know and if I did it changed, so, not very helpful in that regard. I have helped plenty of people connect with other points in Chile but ya gotta get in on your own. ; )

    I'm looking for friendly, positive people who are have a degree of physical stamina - 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. If you are a carpenter, or a masterchef, or have any specific skills, please tell about that.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    It is a very quiet place, with little noise apart from the birds and animals. If you like you can enjoy fishing, stargazing, and limitless trekking options. There are natural hot springs nearby.
    You will be able to learn about country life in Chile, animals, building, wood harvesting, spanish, permaculture (we are not experts). And you will have wonderful views and learn about a beautiful, nature part of southern Chile.

    People who come here tend to learn about farm life, resources, building, animals. When we do well together it is because we are all patient and tolerant, get up early. I like to help neighbors and work in community projects not just private ones. And take time to learn from each other. It´s very important to be mutually considerate. I´m an open book if you have any questions. There is also a group page for the sector on social media if you would like to connect on whatsapp or facebook.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Construction, cooking, cleaning, fences, greenhouses, gardening. Seeking a "homo faber" who can make things work with what we have in a rural environment... where it is not quick nor simple to get more materials delivered. So most of our projects have a very necessary element of local sourcing and sustainability to it - not just conceptual.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The cabin has three bedrooms, one with a a double bed, serves well for one person or for a couple. Another with a bed and a bunkbed where 3 or 4 can sleep. At this time, we can accommodate up to 8 people, not including campers. We have a spacious bathroom with shower and hot water, a wood stove that serves as a kitchen. There is a refrigerator and pantry and basic supplies.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    For transportation there are established schedules for the public ferry and the bus that arrives at Puerto Buey. Vehicle parking is also available.
    Access by an car is OK but roads are rough in spots. Access by bus is not "difficult", but it requires a degree of focus and patience. You have to coordinate with the schedules, and all public options are not available every day of the week.
    From Puerto Buey, the nearest city it is approximately 2 hours of travel to the city of Osorno, but it could be 3 or 4 hours depending on the route and how well it is planned. Buses to/ from Entre Lagos and Puerto Octay are also feasible but, only at very specific hours/ days of week.
    And then the lake must also be crossed, which can be done by a variety of boats, some big some small, and some free and others with a cost. We´ll talk through that when the time comes.

    Very good place to be quiet, relax, enjoy good barbecue, nature walks, waterfalls, streams, swim/snorkle in the lake, spend time with animals, etc. I highly recommend it for those who want fresh air and a new perspective. My hope is to meet people who are kind and good as possible, and will stay for a month or even longer. But initially it is best to commit to only two weeks and then see how it goes.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    There is an antenna and dedicated router/wifi modem in the cabin - movistar 3g - the best option here. This is separate from my cell phone, it is always on and available. The internet works OK most of the time. Occasionally there are outages that last a few hours (around once per week). Email and voip are always functional. We play video, movies, youtube, with little or no buffering. The main LIMITATION is for live video conferencing. I have had many zoom/ whatsapp video calls with no problems, but not guaranteed, depending on the time of the day and month of the year, sometimes it useless and you must go only audio.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    there is no road to this side of the lake, but there is a safe place to park at a friends house very near to where the boats cross

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 582435415346