Come help with animal care, construction projects, cooking, egg gathering in Rocky Mountain House, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 55 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Welcome here, our 5 acres of paradise just minutes outside of Rocky Mountain House, Alberta!

    We are currently re-designing our 5 acres in order to build it into a Permaculture Demonstration Farm. We are working towards the goal of producing all of our own energy, and growing (most of) our own food for a family of 6 people, and then showing other people how to do it for them selves. Our farm will not resemble a typical farm we see now, as I am exploring a model for low-energy farming. Â

    Currently we have several types of solar energy systems installed including solar electric, solar air heating, solar cooking, and solar water heating. We have also retrofitted our old farmhouse to be super-efficient in terms of energy use, and also to improve its long-term durability.Â

    In terms of food production, we have installed twenty-four hundred square feet of raised garden beds, as well as the initial stages of three perennial food forests. Food forests will display the twenty-five species of fruit we can grow in this climate, as well as provide a low-maintenance alternative to annual-garden production.Â

    Hand-in-hand with food production comes food preservation and storage. In order to display these ideas, we have a root cellar under our deck, and a walk-in freezer made from a shipping container. The shipping container is underneath a hill to help moderate temperature, and will keep food frozen year round without using any outside energy inputs.

    Finally, we hope to develop our large Quonset building into a classroom-type facility that will facilitate teaching various courses such as renewable energy systems, soil building, cooking, canning & preserves, greenhouse design, music, yoga, and any other classes that the community desires.Â

    So, if you are looking for some interesting ideas, conversations or friends, stop by for a visit and a tour of our ranch

    Growing & Producing Sustainable Ideas!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our family has 4 kids, which live here at different times. Sage (12yrs), and Renn (10yrs), live here full time. Harrison (20yrs) and Elliott (23yrs) will visit from time to time on weekends. The kids are very sociable, and will be willing to help, play, sing, wrestle, paint, draw, or drum on anything you choose!

    Our home is an old 5 bedroom farmhouse that has been converted to a high-efficiency building.
    The property is designed to maximize production, but also to help form connections between people and their environment. Connections with other people, animals, and nature allow us to see things in a different perspective.

    Our house and public toilets feature a simple, 5 gallon pail, compost or DRY toilet system.

    We do not use any synthetic fertilizers of pesticides. We hand pick weeds and bugs if necessary. We use compost tea as fertilizer and ducks for pest control.

    Methodologies: Bio-Dynamic, Biological pest control, Composting, Mulching, No-Till Agriculture, Permaculture, Without chemicals or pesticides

    Practices: culinary herbs, gardens, vegetable, medicinal herbs, mushrooms, self-sufficiency, solar energy

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Animal Care, Construction projects, Cooking, Egg gathering, Firewood splitting & gathering, Gardening tasks, general, Help with Computers/Internet, Help with Eco Project, Kitchen help, Maintenance, general, Pruning, Weeding.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have rooms and beds in the house as well as our pop up tent trailer in the summer time.

    Meal options: Lacto-Vegetarian (includes dairy), Non Vegetarian, Ovo-Lacto-Vegetarian (includes eggs and dairy), Ovo-Vegetarian (includes eggs), Vegan.

    Meal Planning & Sharing: All meals are eaten together with the host family, Everyone takes a turn with meal preparation, Help is welcome as host family and volunteers work together in meal preparation and clean up.

    Approx. Percentage of food eaten is organic: 80%

    We try to obtain the highest quality food possible. We are hoping for local, organic, GMO-free, chemical free, fertilizer-free, but in small-town Alberta, these options are not always available. Our drinking water is from a well, is chlorine-free, and fluoride-free. Breakfast (8am) usually consists of porridge or cereal with milk. We are not vegetarian all the time, but some meals are.

    Please keep the doors and windows closed at all times during the winter to conserve heat. Please keep the doors and window screens closed at all times during the summer to keep out flies.

    Smoking is allowed outdoors only. No smoking in the house but on the property is fine. 420 Friendly.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 2.5 hours drive from Calgary or Edmonton, and 1 hour from Red Deer.

    The town of Rocky Mountain House is a town of 7000 people and takes about 10 minutes to drive to from our home. Rocky has 3 grocery stores, 8 liquor stores, 2 laundromats, a movie theatre, a couple pubs, a swimming pool, 2 skating rinks, a museum, a national historic park, a post office, and lots more.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-6 hours a day, 5-7 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 579886661545