Experience a dragon fruit plantation, organic vegetable growing, gardening, wood working and some construction work in exotic hacienda located in Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Bisher 61 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.02.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    258

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a polish – ecuadorian family running the dragon fruit business in hacienda El Encuentro located in El Empalme, Ecuador. This is our paradise where we enjoy being in nature and working on the land, surrounded by the spectacular flora and fauna.

    We are a young couple in the process of solidifying our own agroecological project for over 4 years now. We have masters degrees and engineering in marketing but our passion about natural products is driving us to this farm development. We cultivate red and yellow dragon fruit for export purpose and we plant balsa and teak forest as well.

    El Encuentro is a 3,5 hours by bus ride from Guayaquil international airport and our house in Guayaquil where we stay from Monday to Friday.

    Currently, we are seeking people who can help us on our fruit plantation, especially someone with experience working with plants or knowledgeable about organic farming, it will be an asset.

    We offer a flex week around 25 hrs and a FREE accomodation but you have to take care of your daily needs, supply & meals yourself. You have to know that you’ll have lots of freedom as we are not living in the hacienda. We work on another business in Guayaquil during week days. We only travel to El Encuentro for the weekends, so you can stay these days with us or you may travel if you wish.

    WE NEED you:
    - with experience in farming, gardening or a keen interest
    - if you can stay for at least 2-weeks.
    - if you are eager to help others
    - if you appreciate other cultures
    - if you like construction and wood working
    - if you are not afraid of getting dirty

    YOU SHOULD:
    - be prepared to do physical work in the outdoors, under rain or hot sun
    - be open minded
    - be easy going, but willing to work hard and pay attention to detail

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We promote cultural exchange, sensitivity to nature and love for a healthy-natural-farm lifestyle.

    You will enjoy the beautiful ecuadorian countryside, warm tropical weather, friendly locals, amazing farm experience and you can practice your Spanish.

    The farm has only dogs bulterier, labrador and chicken.

    You will also enjoy the spectacular animals that come daily to the farm, little owls, snakes, armadillo, squirrel, parrots, toucans, humming birds and woodpeckers that are living in their natural habitat.

    Enjoy the local, organic fruits and veggies grown at the farm. Eat fresh & healthy produce everyday.
    You will gain invaluable insights into permaculture farming in wet tropics and about life in Ecuador.
    As you will stay in the farm temporarily, you will also have a chance to discover a bio-diversity of Ecuador, from Andean mountains to pacific coasts, volcans and rivers.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like you to help with the daily work on the farm such as weeding, watering and cleaning. Depending on the season when you come, we may ask you to help us with planting and harvesting crops as well. Since we don’t use herbicides, there is a lot to do. Also there is some building work available for those who has some skills required.

    GARDENING:
    We are growing a variety of vegetables and fruits (to be used in our primary business, a diet catering) including: carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, pumpkins, avocado, plantains, papaya, pineapple, mango, lemons, oranges, and many others.

    We wish to set a new, professionally made organic garden with herbs, zuccinis, eggplants, leafy greens and so on.

    We need a help with cleaning the surface for a new vegetable garden, fence making and soil protecting against weeds, together we will design areas for each vegetable and then we need to continuously take care of this place.

    DRAGON FRUIT:
    There is a local worker living and working everyday with the plantation but it is a bit difficult to maintain 5 ha of cactus plants to stay perfect, so we will ask you to cut some cactus branches, fix them to the stick, collect fruits, everything will be explained in site.

    WOOD WORKING AND CONSTRUCTING WITH BLOCKS:
    We are continuously improving our inside house and outside space. We plan to build a pergola, outdoor bathroom with relaxing place (we have architect made plan). We have all modern equipment fo cutting, sanding, painting the wood.


    Let’s have fun farming together!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Polish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    This is Not for Free accommodation. This is a volunteering.
    (This means We should help each other, I want your ideas, your proposals, and your experiences to improve our plantation. And You are here to have fun!)

    ROOM:
    We provide you a room in the main house with a share bathroom with cold and hot water. This is a double room with ventilator, TV and Internet included. You will stay in this house alone from monday till friday.

    This is a legitimate country house. That means some people may consider it 'basic', and big bugs do come inside ! We are constantly working to make the house nicer, however interested workawayers should be comfortable with camping-bungalow vibe accommodations. You can also use hammocks between trees.

    In the same hacienda there is a guard and all year round local working family who lives in a small house close to the main one, so you won´t be totally alone and you can count on some help when needed. This family only speaks spanish.

    This is our first year experience with taking volunteers as we are open minded multicultural couple and we wish to share our knowledge with you and learn from you as well.

    FOOD:
    We will provide you with basic ingredients needed to prepare your own meals during the workdays. Some days we can ask the guard´s wife to make some dineer for all. It is possible to make BBQ food or set a fire outside in our fire place especially made safe. If you need more things, you can use a public transportation and shop in the nearest town.

    CLIMATE:
    The regular temperature is high, around 28-36 degrees and you should wear a hat, sunglasses and sunblock everyday. You will never need a long sleeve jacket here. This is a humid and tropical place. Between January and May it is raining at night but during a day very rarely. Nevertheless there are rain boots (gum boots) and coveralls you can use when you are up there.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The farm is located close to the main cities:

    Guayaqui 2h
    Quevedo 30 min
    Quito 3,5 h
    Manta 2h

    This will help the workaweyers to enjoy travelling the weekends and we can also offer acommodation in Guayaquil for free.

    Regarding farm surroundings, it is located right by the main road with a facility to take a bus to a nearest town El Empalme (20 minutes of drive) where you can shop in supermarket, get to the farmacy or local doctor.

    For the first time we will give you a ride from Guayaquil where we normally live and together we will familiarize you with a farm. As we need your help between Monday and Thursday or Friday, you will be free to spend your time on traveling around Ecuador during weekends.

    We understand that you are here in Ecuador not only to help us out but to enjoy the country and experience as much as you can cope with. You should take a couple of days off each week, just so that you don't go home regretting all the things you didn't do while you were here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 Hours from monday to friday


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 579294499983