Stay in the beautiful, unspoilt Somerset countryside, England and help with decorating, renovating and gardening.



Bisher 155 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We (Katie and Seain) moved from London, to the Somerset countryside 3 years ago with our 10 year old twins, Tom and Lily and our cat Splodge.
    We decided to move here as we wanted to live near Glastonbury Festival, where Seain works.
    We fell in love with the old, closed down village pub we are currently renovating to become our family home, and the breathtaking views of the ancient and beautiful English countryside.
    We have settled well into the friendly and vibrant village community. Shortly after we moved in we helped start an annual beer and cider festival with the other villagers.
    We have a lovely big garden with magnificent views in the middle of the countryside and we are close to many places of interest.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are an open minded family who love cooking, eating, music and socialising. We live in a traditional English farming community, which in recent years has seen an influx of artists, musicians, film makers and festival organisers.
    The area offers an eclectic mix of England at its best.
    I can support someone wanting to learn English.
    I love cooking traditional English food as well as food from other cultures and enjoy sharing recipes.
    I enjoy exchanging gardening knowledge with anyone who is interested.
    I will happily suggest places to visit in the local area to help you settle in and get the most out of your stay.

  • Arbeit


    We are approaching the final stages of our renovation project and need help from skilled and enthusiastic people, with painting, and helping us move back into the house, as well as cleaning, carpentry, building, gardening and general maintenance.
    We would really like help to build raised beds, for growing organic vegetables, from recycled stone.
    We occasionally have tradespeople working on site, but really need extra help to get the place tidy and the job finished.
    We would also like help with cooking, we especially like all types of Asian food and would welcome an Asian cook happy to share their recipes.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is for 2 people in a caravan at the end of the old pub carpark, taking advantage of the wonderful views across Somerset and into Wiltshire.
    The caravan has 2 single or 1 double bed with bedding, gas cooker, electric, a heater and cupboards for storage. Cooking equipment and towels can be provided on request.
    Guests are welcome to use the garden and the family kitchen, bath/shower room, tv room, laundry facilities and wifi in the house, unfortunately the wifi doesn't reach the caravan
    We are smokers, but only smoke outside.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a small friendly village with regular, monthly events, an annual festival in September and a medieval church.
    We have many country walks right on our doorstep.
    Stourhead and Longleat country parks are close by.
    Our nearest town, Bruton houses the newest Houser and Wirth Art Gallery as well as a number of independent galleries.
    Nearby Frome is a hub of independent makers, thinkers and artists.
    We are very close to Glastonbury Festival and many other festivals are held locally in the summer.
    The tourist attractions of Glastonbury town and Cheddar Gorge are half an hour away.
    The stone circles at Stonehenge and Avebury are within an hours drive , as is the Westbury White Horse.
    Historic Bath and vibrant Bristol are an hours drive away, as well as the south coast and Jurassic coast.
    There are lots of small and large scale farms and food producers.
    The area is famous for its cheese, cider and ale as well as lots of other produce.
    There are great farm shops, country pubs and restaurants, all within easy reach of our home.
    Local activities include walking, art, cycling, horse riding, rock climbing, pot holing/caving, yoga, Pilates, shopping, cooking, eating, drinking, music festivals.
    There is no public transport in our village, but we are happy to give lifts to nearby towns for transport connections.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    25 hours per week in exchange for board and food. We are flexible as to how this is divided and can come to a mutual agreement.

In the garden
Making furniture from reclaimed wood
Cooker in the caravan
Through the caravan window
Double bed set up in the caravan
Caravan single beds/ bench seats with fold out table
Outside the caravan
Installing steel beams
Splodge our cat
Learning how to restore stone window frames with Gary the stonemason
Walking down the village lane
Removing cement render before repointing with lime
The view from our house
The dawn view from the caravan where you will be staying

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 573993861618