Hilf mit der Renovierung eines halb verfallenen Bauernhofs mit Waldland, damit es ein nachhaltiges Haus wird, Roadhead, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 418 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.01.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    AGROFORESTRY and LIME PLASTERING opportunities for the new year!

    ****************************************************************************************************

    29th FEBRUARY – 7th MARCH 2020

    AGROFORESTRY AND PERMACULTURE LIVING

    A hands-on week of woodland management, community living and discussion at Kinkry Hill House, North Cumbria, UK

    • Live in community on a site specific project, exploring how our interactions with the land and each other relate to the key themes of permaculture living and agroforestry.

    • Learn practical skills working alongside professionals; hedge laying over, coppicing, planting, protecting trees and removing non-native species.

    • Take part in a series of seminars outlining the underlying principles of permaculture living and agroforestry, exploring how they could be applied at Kinkry Hill House and beyond.

    Basic bunk-barn style accommodation and vegan food are offered in exchange for the 25 hours of woodland management work you will contribute during the week. If you wish to make a donation for the learning element it would be gratefully received.

    ******************************************************************************************************

    6th JANUARY - 21st FEBRUARY

    LIME PLASTERING

    During this time we're looking for 1 or 2 people to join in with our family life and help out with Lime plastering, and insulation improvements. As well as day to day things like feeding the chickens and making bread.
    We're flexible on the length of time you stay, with 2 weeks being a minimum. As we live very much in community with volunteers it’s important to us that you’re interested in our project and life style, and would like to spend time talking about things like composting toilets and how we educate our kids!

    ******************************************************************************************************
    A BIT OF BACKGROUND

    We are Amy, Mike, Ada (13) and Eartha (6)
    We like amongst other things;

    Playing folk music
    Finding ways to live more in tune with the earth and those who live and grow upon it
    Being outside in the woods
    Drinking wine and making plans
    Working hard and feeling satisfied
    Home educating
    Cooking and eating good organic vegan food.
    Climbing
    Reading books that make us think

    We bought a derelict 17th century farmhouse, outbuildings, and 10 acres of young woodland 4 years ago.

    Amy has done much of the building work herself working with volunteers and specialists, aiming to restore the property with a sensitivity to the building and an awareness of the environmental impacts of materials choices. She is now studying for her MSc in Green Building with the Center for Alternative Technology.
    Choices made with the aim of creating a low impact house, have so far included a composting toilet, solar and wood heating system, insulating lime plaster, geocell floor, borate wood worm treatment, reclaimed materials, minimisation of construction waste and integration of habitats and food producing plants in the landscaping.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will gain as much as you are willing to put in:) we are very open people happy to share skills knowledge and experiences, ask questions and share your thoughts and we will do the same!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Most of all we need people who are enthusiastic and passionate about our project and way of life!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and a little spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers stay with us in our home, we have a small bedroom, for a single person, two friends or a couple
    We all cook, eat and socialise together in our house. Which is very basic but it does have a cooker, water, shower, composting toilet and wood burning stoves.

    The house we are working on, is also the one we are living in! so often we have to move rooms around and accept a certain amount of dust and mess, depending of what we are working on!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in north Cumbria, about half an hours drive from carlisle, which is the nearest city. The area is very rural, remote. Our house is on the edge of a small village but there is no shop, cafe , bus or train for about 12 miles.
    Come here to get away from town or city life and tourist attractions, enjoy the quietness of the countryside.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week



























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 572714985686