Gardening and German Cultural Exchange in Forest of Dean, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 238 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.11.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small, friendly, creative family: grandma, mum and daughter (studying for the International Baccalaureate in London), with extended family and a dad coming and going.

    We'd love some help with gardening, cooking, clearing the kitchen and some general housework, painting and decorating - helping to re-establish some order in the studio, the study and our garage which needs to function better as a workshop.

    The chance to learn about German culture when possible would also be very welcome.
    We have lots of projects on the go, so there's always something we need help with which would suit your particular talents. We have really appreciated the individuality of every Workawayer that has arrived to share their time and talents with us - both in The Forest and at our base in London.

    Our cottage is in the beautiful Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire. If you're interested in the natural and man-made environment and like working out of doors, you will have plenty to enjoy ~ this will suit you also if you want some space to study or think or stay in refuge from the pandemic.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our cottage is right on the edge of historic woodland.
    You can enjoy spectacular ever-changing views over the Severn glacial valley plane, day and night from the garden.

    Good rail and bus networks connect from Gloucester but, during the pandemic we are looking for house guests who want to stay at home. We hope this won't last too long and that we can broaden what we offer to Workawayers to include London and other city trips in the near future.

    We're a multi-generational family 16 - 86 years old. We we'd be delighted for you to join us and bring your own culture and perspective to share.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help with gardening and outside work in all weathers ~ bringing order to our small veg patch, cutting grass, helping to manage the hedges and store fruit, gathering fuel, clearing snow ~ the usual seasonal tasks is always welcome.

    Cooking, kitchen and general household care is welcome. Sharing and helping to clear away thoroughly after family meals, is always greatly appreciated ~

    The chance for our 16 year old to practise speaking German when she's studying in London, would be brilliant.

    Whatever skills our guests may have ... we're interested to learn and share the ones we have to offer.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in an old cottage, with a contemporary extension and garden which takes one or two people to care for.

    Your own space is our guest bedroom, which has twin beds and is freshly decorated.

    We have plenty of rooms downstairs, offering a quiet place to read, access to the internet, and a room to watch old, classic films on dvd or experience British television. Many of our Workaway guests have used their time with us to get important study done ~ it's quiet here and we can help make this a supportive environment to help you reach your goals.

    We have a clean shower-room and a shared bathroom next to your room.

    We don't smoke and would prefer not to have smokers or heavy drinkers in our home.
    Also, if you have pet allergies or pollen allergies this may not be the most comfortable home for you, as we have a small dog and we're surrounded by fields and woodland. We cannot offer to host guest's dogs or other pets sorry.

    Looking forward to welcoming you.
    Liza

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Make the most of the English countryside ~ the walking is fantastic.

    The Forest of Dean is also known for its cycling - but you've got to be fit ... it's hilly.

    Ideal for a quiet, self-reliant person , who loves nature, wildlife, art, literature, photography, gardening, dogs and languages ~ someone who is at ease communicating with individuals of all ages.

    Our hope is that you would enjoy your time with our family and gain experience of a "Contemporary English" way of living and that we may improve our understanding of your culture and support your individual adventure.

    We have a little bit of experience with volunteers at home and have really found it enriching.
    Wishing you all the best for your travels ~

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    The Forest of Dean has a patchy wifi connection so, you can't necessarily rely on it to run a business. If you are patient and don't need first class wifi, it should be fine.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week 9-2pm, or a work pattern by agreement - feel free to suggest something

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 572445431785