Komm und hilf in unserem Familienhaus in herrlichem Süden von Devon, in Torbay, der englischen Riviera, UK



Bisher 396 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Note added - we are currently looking for someone with IT skills; webdeisgn (Wordpress) & graphic design. This is our priority right now but please also read the help section. We are NOT just looking for someone to take care of our children, but of course it's important to join in with family life.
    We are a family of four, Emily, Richard & our two little ones (daughter 4.5yrs & son 2.5yrs). We also have our beautiful old golden retriever, Buddy, who is very welcoming & affectionate.

    We are a very busy, hardworking family and our current project is renovating our family home. Having two young children means we can't always dedicate as much time to this as we would like, therefore we would very much welcome an extra pair of hands, or two!

    Emily is primarily a 'stay at home Mum' and previously worked for the local government. She also teaches English, runs a small handcraft business and undertakes some accountancy, marketing & web copy work for local companies. Richard works full time as a Civil Engineer. We subscribe to the gentle parenting ethos and anyone joining our family would need to share our love of children and bustling family life. Both of our children are very bright and lively so our home is often full of fun and laughter - they will want to play with you!

    In our spare time we enjoy being active, we love coastal walks, sea kayaking, wild swimming, football, cricket, camping & caravanning. We are well travelled and love exploring new areas. Emily has worked full time as an English teacher previously (now she does this from home) and we will all enjoy chatting with you about your own interests and helping you to develop your language skills through conversation, if needed. We have hosted foreign students for the last 11 years & love to meet new people.

    Brixham is a busy working harbour town, very popular with tourists in the Summer months due to its beautiful scenic location. We have many beaches along the coastline, suitable for a vast range of water sports and leisure activities. We are in close proximity of Torquay, Dartmouth and Totnes and we have the vibrant cities of Exeter and Plymouth within an hour or so reach (by bus or train).

    Please note: We only host volunteers aged 18yrs+
    All volunteers must have their own insurance.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Arbeit


    House renovation work (painting, building, gardening)
    Woodcraft (making items for a market stall)
    IT, web design, graphic design, marketing, constructing mailing lists
    Potentially contributing towards lesson planning ideas (English lessons)
    Business skills advice & ideas
    Extra hands with child care & housework, cleaning
    Generally mucking in with helping family life run smoothly

    We would like our volunteers to help flexible hours (5 hours each day) but this may include some weekends with a day off in the week instead.

    Tasks like helping with cooking, cleaning etc (& keeping your own space clean & tidy) are expected as part of day-to-day life to help the household run smoothly.

    It would be wise to bring suitable clothing for practical tasks - painting, gardening etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We are currently renovating our family home. It is a semi-detached house in Brixham, one of the three towns of Torbay, also known as 'The English Riviera'.

    We have four bedrooms, 2/3 are available for volunteers, either a double, a larger twin room or a small single room, depending on availability and whether we have other guests staying with us. (We may ask you to share with another workawayer of the same sex if we're booked up). We also have a caravan in our garden with double bed, if that's a preferred option in Summer. You will have access to a shared bathroom, we have 3 toilets in the house so there's never a 'queue'.

    Our home is a working project - it is being renovated so please don't come expecting luxury accommodation! This makes it even more important that we all help to keep the place clean & tidy.

    We would provide you with breakfast & a light lunch (to help yourself) and an evening meal which would usually be enjoyed at the table as a family. At dinner time it is 'all hands to the deck' to prepare our meals and clean up afterwards. There is a shop just across the road if you'd like extra snacks.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We would like a self-motivated volunteer who is happy to get out and about independently and enjoy experiencing what Devon has to offer. We have plenty of information about the local sights and are happy to recommend the best places to see. Where possible we will offer lifts and help you arrange your adventures.

    Having a young family, we often go to bed early and would not be a suitable family to host anyone who wishes to be out late partying each night. Non-smokers only please.

    Please include any skills you have with your application, and let us know if you have any dietary requirements or preferences. We primarily eat a vegetarian diet but can accommodate meat eaters too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours per day, 5 days per week

Our family with workawayers (now friends), Lukas, Shahrom & Florent
Happy days at the seaside with our workawayers
We love playing in and on the water
The day we decorated our Christmas tree
Our little boy, 6 wks old here
Christmas market
Family trip to the park
Our lovely town & harbourside, Brixham
Busy working harbour

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 565415986923