Help on our land and home renovation in Gadacs, Somogy County, Hungary



Bisher 110 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Our dream has always been to lead a low impact life and to be as self-sufficient as possible.
    At the end of 2015 we took the plunge and swapped our suburban terraced house in Berkshire, England, for a run down farmhouse in the Somogy County in rural Hungary.
    We are leading a simple lifestyle and enjoying the peace and tranquillity of our beautiful surroundings. Everyday is an adventure, discovering and learning, and making sustainable choices as we go along.

    Last year we focused on producing our own range of jams, pickles, chutneys and our all time favorite, walnut butter.

    We make our own wines too...cherry, plum, nettle, dandelion, pea pod just to name a few.

    We currently have chickens, geese, ducks, goats, rabbits, dogs, a pony and a cat so any help in animal care is always greatly appreciated, though not essential.

    UPDATE: things have changed a bit since this was written, we now have a one year old daughter, have given away a lot of the animals and have failed slightly on the vegetable field this year (babies and time don't seem to compliment each other)

    However, we still always need help...we have to pack and sort the house for the winter as we will be away for a short while, harvest all the fruit and nuts, make wine and jam and generally just organise the place a bit. New ideas and art projects are always welcome too!

    Another change is that our old guestroom is now not accessible aswehave built an extension on the old house so we have a pull out couch in lounge,or feel free to bring a tent/hammock or camper.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There is very little English spoken in our village (only one person other than us!) so you will be immersed into traditional, rural Hungary, sampling genuine local cuisine and a much slower pace of life. Summer is long and hot, but not humid so expect some lovely sunshine. We are lucky enough to have made some great friends in our village so expect the occasional party or meal with the neighbours.
    Balaton lake is less than an hour away and makes for a great day out. We are two hours from Budapest but happy to arrange a few days out there if you wanted to see the city.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    The house was in a very sad way when we bought it but with lots of hard work its coming along nicely. We are currently renovating the attic to have a self contained bedroom and lounge area. In time we want to build an eco lodge at the top of the land, get our wind turbine up and running and build new animal houses and stables. It is very much a blank canvas so any artistic ideas are welcome.

    We want you to have fun so work wont be tough (unless you choose otherwise). At this time of the year most of our work entails planting our vegetables for the summer, weeding, and helping out the neighbours. The animals need tenting to everyday including milking, feeding and mucking out. Later in the year as the weather gets cooler we will start processing the food for our winter supply.

    Other chores include tending to our vegetable patch, keeping an eye on our mischievous animals, designing and preparing the new guest room and helping with any clever eco ideas....all suggestions welcome!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Hungarian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    It is very basic but we have clean bedding and a roof over your head. We have two beds up in the attic or you are welcome to bring tents or a campervan.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a daily bus service into the next village where there are shops, restuarants and bars. Kaposvar is the biggest city near us and that is about 25 KM away. There is fishing, horse riding and great walks nearby.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 564291111443